Website feedback

AAE Portland Downtown Hotel

415 SW Montgomery Street, Oregon, Portland, USA

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 76%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note: All dorm guests must be under 30years of age and have an out of state I.D.

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: Mattress was so thin that i could feel the steel bars. Even after I was able to fold the mattress(you're not suposed to be able to fold a mattress) the sheet was a dirty old rag..

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Trying to cancel the booking because I had to leave the country unexpectedly I got the run around from both the app and staff at the hostel. It took me hours of calling before anyone even answered the phone, they told me I had to cancel thru he app The app said cancel thru the hostel. After spending a day calling I only ever got onto one staff member who was extremely rude and unhelpful. I ended up having to pay for something I never got to use because no one could be bothered or wanted to help me.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very well situated near downtown. The rooms are big and have their own kitchen and bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really a Value Inn, very nice staff, rooms were clean, free parking and great area!

Disliked: Nothing I would remember

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, convenient downtown location, friendly staff. We were able to leave our luggage in their storage before and after checkout.

Disliked: Electricity wiring in the room was weird - if we turned off a certain light switch, the fire alarm would beep.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Room was spacious

Disliked: No facilities for making a hot drink

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location, compact design, price

Disliked: Huge noise from pizza restaurant, poor light, espoecially in bathroom, no coffee or even any dishes in kitchen, heat and AC uniyt had controls way down on floor with poor light, no bedside lamp

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I like that this place was very close to the downtown area. It was inexpensive and I had no problems with the staff.

Disliked: The place was pretty "run down." I had a top bunk and the bed that I had seemed very wobbly. The faucet in the bathroom for the show leaked all night. The leak was pretty big and you could hear it all night long. When I got here I did not have a towel set on my bed.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Access to Downtown Portland.

Disliked: The staff was incredibly rude, unwelcoming, and did not handle questions and discrepancies in cost well (despite this issue apparently being a common one, according to the manager). There are also hidden costs included in the "tax" the hostel adds on such as lockers (which are disgusting and not worth paying for unless you have to use them).Also despite having extra beds in the room we were staying in, the hostel put one of us on a very uncomfortable roll out bed. Mattresses were unusually thin, and the noise from the next door bar keeps people awake at all hours of the night.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Safe, Clean, Private

Disliked: No Communal Kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability