Website feedback

Majestic Tourist Hotel Hotel

83/40 Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 72%

Safety 86%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Business Centre"
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kandy?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 72%

Safety 86%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Very silent and peacefully location with totally friendly staff. For less money you get a nice and clean room with a good breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. The staff were so friendly. And manager/owner was very helpful. The room was what it said it was. It's not the ritz. Beautiful view. Hot showers and excellent wifi.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Location. Good rooms and clean ensuites. Good breakfast

Disliked: Manager seemed to have forgotten about our booking on arrival but had appropriate rooms available and followed the Hostelbookers prices and balances without fuss.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice and friendly staff. Bit outside the centre but therefore a quiet place with a nice view from the rooftop (tuktuk costs about 250 to 300 from the bus/ train station). Breakfast and dinner was verry good, although not the cheapest as usually in hotel restaurants. Rooms were clean, nothing bad to say obout that.

Disliked: Slow WiFi

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I booked a dorm room but since we are in low season in Sri Lanka and I would have been on my own the owner upgraded me to a double room for free.The bed costs 1800lkr which is good value for a nice clean hotel with brilliant views. Not far from the Centre (TUKTUK of around 250lkr £1/$1.5) Please see attached pics for stunning views of rooftop restaurant which is where you can use the FREE wifi and enjoy your FREE breakfast.You are surrounded by trees and greenery and monkeys can be seen sometimes!!The owner Joseph is FANTASTIC and very helpful in organising trips, he even got us tickets for the Dance at 20% off.No AC but you don't need it, trust me, up in Kandy the humidity is nowhere near as in Colombo and the weather is very nice. STAY HERE for definite!!! for £8 a night it's absolutely brilliant! Thanks!!!Joe from England

Disliked: NOTHING, everything was good

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff made everything to make our stay pleasant. They were really helpful and flexible

Disliked: Bed was hard and wifi was not working most of the rime

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely friendly owner and staff, very helpful and welcoming.Lovely views across the valley.Very relaxing stay.Mr Josef helped us to organise a car trip to visit some out of town sites that we wanted to visit - Sigiriya and Dambulla - and gave helpful tips and advice on travel and sites.Thanks Mr Josef!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good decent rooms, with free wifi. Food is excellent, good views from up top. Owners were very helpful and great to talk to.

Disliked: Only real downside is the distance from the city centre. Even then, only about 1/2 hour walk to get there, with the added bonus of the walk being mostly around the lake in the centre of Kandy.If you do walk in, keep an eye on the bus' number as they go past, you can try and hail down a bus for the trip back.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel is 10 mins away from the city center.my bedroom was very clean and comfortable.and my bathroom was also very clean and shiny.the hotel has a good staff.the restaurant is in the top of the building.the view from terrace is very lovley in morning.Mr.Josephs food is the best in srilanka.you should try the curries definitely.His wife Mrs.Kumari help me to organize some tours.she was very helpful to me.and i went a tour with her.she showed me many places and gave me many important information regarding the places i visit.everything was good to me!!.hope to go back in this august,thanks.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bedroom was spacious and clean and had a balcony towards the valley side. The bathroom also was spacious and clean. The owners, who are very kind, can prepare for you an à la carte dinner, who is served on the higher terrace, delicious and not expensive. While waiting, we could observe the flight of the house bat and the walks of the 12 geckos on the walls. Breakfast ist also OK. Good value for money.

Disliked: The terrace is high for serving dinner and breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability