Website feedback

Merith House Hotel Hotel

2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 70%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cots available
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 70%

Location 70%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

Showing 11-20 of 24 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The hotel is very clean the staffs are friendly and helpful

Disliked: Non

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: Too high a price for the quality accomodation, service offered, type of rooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, so good value for money ! The room was clean.

Disliked: Maybe a bit noisy but nothing really disturbing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Availability

Disliked: Distance to city center

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were nice and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The location is little bit far from the centre, however, very good linked to the centre with the buses.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The price was ok

Disliked: It was dirty. old sticky shampoo bottle and hair in the shower. some old clothes from earlier guests where in the drawers. Only one pillow each person. the brakefast was only toast joghurt and cereals. no scotish or english breakfast. Other b&b on our trip where much beter with the same price!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bus stop right out front.

Disliked: The staff were unfriendly and extremely unhelpful and inflexible. Upon arrival we were told there was a 5% surcharge to pay using a debit card, the room was cold and not particularly clean, the milk at breakfast was sour and the staff made us feel unwelcome. I would certainly not recommend this, most hostels are nicer and have far friendlier staff.


The property's response is

Many Thanks for your Comments, im sorry to read you thought our Staff was unfriendly and unhelpfull.
I didnt recieve any comments from you during your stay about the staff if i did i would have certanly delt with this matter at the time.
As for the Milk being "sour" at Breakfast this is the First i have heard of this no one else has noted this , our milk is delivered Fresh every Morning along with our Cheese, i will look into this matter.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap. But you get what you pay for at this place.

Disliked: It's a great place to stay if you want to take cold showers! No hot water in the morning or at night.


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments about the Merith House Hotel, we try go give the Guest a Good Stay but unfortunatly during the time of your stay we did infact have some issues with the main pump on the boiler.
We did try to get this rectified as quickly as possible though.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The place is nice even if it's needed to take a bus or taxi to go to the city centre. Our room was nicely clean and every day the hotel staff cleaned it up while changing our linen. The breakfast is very early (7-.8.30) and the beds very comfortable.Right in front of the wonderful Leith Links park!

Disliked: The atmosphere is generally cold, the place looks very old, and the bathrooms do strange noises time to time...

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The large bedrooms

Disliked: The location is too far from the attractions, the staff weren't very welcoming


The property's response is

Many thanks for your Comments, sorry to hear you thought our staff was not very welcomming, we do try to welcome everyone with a smile, we will endevour to work harder.

Check Availability