Website feedback

Golden Hopes Group of Houseboats Hotel

Gate 15, behind hotel leedward, Dal Lake, Srinagar, India

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 87%

Safety 95%

Staff 99%

Value 99%

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Business Centre"
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that you will need to confirm your booking directly to the Golden Hopes group of Houseboats 7 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL or your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Srinagar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 87%

Safety 95%

Staff 99%

Value 99%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Both Brother Tariq and his brother are very friendly guide well. Location is good and very good scnery from deck.

Disliked: Water in tap.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Golden hopes is perfect in every way....incredible stunning location in a quiet part of Dal lake, the most friendly people, beautiful houseboat, delicious food...my stay could not have been better. Tariq and his brother rey offer loads of things to do from lake tours, treks, days out but are not at all pushy...they just want you to enjoy your stay to the maximum and to feel at home. They welcome you into their family and I have never felt so relaxed. Perfect for singles, families, couples....dont hesitate to book here. I cannot recommend more highly. Truly paradise on earth

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Warm people, they are more like a host so we feels like home. Tariq (the owner) shares a lot of his travel story in India as Tariq is a traveller himself.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The houseboat is owned and run by a family who really care about what they do. The owners Ray and Tariq were very helpful and kind especially when I was ill from food poisoning (acquired prior to arrival in Srinagar). They arranged various trips for me and were always honest and upfront about the costs and commissions involved, unlike some houseboat owners I understand.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: From the moment we arrived we felt incredibly welcome and at home. Tariq and his family were so helpful and they arranged a number of activities during our stay. The location was beautiful and on a quieter part of the lake, allowing us to escape the noise of the main boulevard. Whether you are looking for sightseeing, trekking, great food or just somewhere to spend a relaxing few days by the water, I couldn't recommend Golden Hopes enough.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Golden Hopes is like being at home...I have never felt more relaxed, safe, looked after in such beautiful surroundings. The houseboat is in the best part of the lake...quiet with wildlife everywhere and far from the road. Jhon and Tariq could not be more accomodating...from when they picked me up from the airport, suggested all the activites I could do, accompanied me on an amazing trek, welcomed me into their family, enjoyed drinks, delicious food and music together....it really is perfect. The houseboats themselves are amazing...beautiful rooms with all you could ever need. Tariq and Jhon have all the information and cant do enough to make your stay the most enjoyble it could be. They offer amazing service while at the same time treating you as one of their family. When i came back from the trek - of which there are many many options - I felt like I was coming home. Only shame is that I dont have longer here...already thinking about booking my next trip. Perfect for singles, couples, families...paradise on earth :-) Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: after one guy in new delhi sent me to other place and lie to me in many things i called him to ask why he lied to me and he answered:"buisness its buisness"..after this i get to this houseboet and felt how "buiseness" should be: with good people that give you the options and the information in a quiet and beautiful location good food... "buisnes" that runs by good hearts people so i recomend you to go goldenhopes houseboat.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: After arriving at Golden Hopes i was made to feel comfortable and relaxed, i was given all the information about Srinagar and the surrounding area i needed. Tariq and Rey are both very helpful and informative.I can not understand how one reviewer described this place as a slum, its a beautiful place with fantastic views and very clean. For the price i paid i found the service and the houseboat to be above and beyond my expectations.I have seen other houseboats on Dal Lake and some are nice but i would prefer this place due to the trust i found through Tariq & Rey plus there is no hassle here. I was offered 200 rupees houseboat including food but then i talked to Tariq and he said if the cost of the dinner and breakfast is 200 rupees then what is left?! Please be aware of street hawkers who will try to put doubt in your mind.Unfortunatley i could not go to Mountain Trekking with these guys due to limited time but my other friends went who came from Leh and they much prefered the mountains of Kashmir which were recommended by Golden Hopes.Special thanks to Hostel Bookers who advertised Golden Hopes, without them i may never have found this wonderful location. I will certainly return on my next trip to India

Disliked: I could not fault anything about this place

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Average. No pro and Con

Disliked: The location, look like we stay in slum in the back row of houseboats.

Check Availability