Website feedback

Reviews of Hanoi Winter Hostel Hanoi Hostel

3 Thanh Ha Street, Dong Xuan Ward, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Indoor Swimming Pool
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wii

Important Information

1)Our check in time is after 1pm and check out time is before 12:00.
2)1 day advance notice for free cancellation.
3)We accept credit card and cash payment upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 02:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 92%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Owned by a lovely family, Booked bus to Hanoi way cheaper than others paid. Spacious room. Good AC & wifi. Breakfast is good. Airport pick up worth it would have been hard to find with heavy bags on. Good location. Owners would do anything for you. Free drinks & bananas.

Disliked: They didn't deduct the deposit I paid through HostelBookers so was complicated to sort out especially as HostelBookers had quoted how much we had to pay in USD, I paid deposit in GBP but was paying rest in Dong- this just puts me off using HostelBookers now to be honest.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I have never been so well looked after in a hostel. The staff were delightful so welcoming and helpful. It was an excellent location, staff organised trips and transport for me at excellent rates. If I ever visit Hanoi again I will definitely stay in this hostel.

Disliked: There was no elevator. Good for exercise but not a good hostel for people with mobility issues. On hot days the rooms are very hot even with AC and fan. But overall I would recommend!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. I had read that the tours they offer are expensive but after speaking to other agents we decided to book with them. We did the cheapest Halong bay tour they offer and it was great! You really pay for what you get on this trip! Dorm room and twin room were comfy and wifi and breakfast was good!

Disliked: No thing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


28 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The location is perfect. Directly in the Old Town you can watch the street vendors directly from the lobby while having breakfast. Atmosphere in the lobby is very nice as during the day the whole family including 2 adorable kids of one receptionist is there entertaining everyone.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night due to bars close by but I slept well. Had the upper bunk bed which was not super easy to climb so for relaxing before going to bed I stayed on the couch in the lobby.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I will begin by saying that out of the 13 odd places we have stayed on our travels, Winter Hostel has beat them all. A special mention to Dong is in order, no task was to big or to small, from making breakfast in the morning, to booking a cruise in Ha Long Bay. He made us feel welcome to Hanoi and appreciated his local wisdom and insight. Originally we were going to leave Hanoi after Ha Long, however we felt one more night at the Lucky Guesthouse was in order. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: It was clean enough..

Disliked: Our experience at the hostel was horrible. We had warned the hostel that we would be arriving late, however when we got there they had locked the doors. We banged on the window and some of the guests tried to wake up the front desk worker. The desk worker refused to wake up at first and took his time getting up to help us. When they did find us our room, it was super sketchy. There was one bunk bed and two single beds. The beds were squished in a row and you could not get into your bed without standing on someone else's. Our room did not have a lock on the door and our roommates were nightmares. We ended up leaving early and checking into another hostel down the street. I have done a lot of backpacking and this was the least safe I've felt in a hostel. Don't stay here!


The property's response is

There was no 24 hour reception, some of the guests had to attempt (several times) to wake up the front desk worker to let us in.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The owners were helpful

Disliked: Rooms are too cramped up, location is in a very narrow alley and stinky.Can get better hostels at the same price


The property's response is

The rooms were different and smaller than showed in pictures

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The building itself is lovely, good sized rooms and great showers.

Disliked: No lift, which is tough when you're on the 3rd floor with a big rucksack.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The staff really really goes out of its way to make sure you have the most pleasant stay possible! They are super friendly and breakfast is delicious. The room is comfortable and clean only 3 beds in 1 dorm room, great shower, the location is really perfect. Especially Halong Bay and Sapa trip done very well, excellent arrangement tours... It's easy to understand why so many people give such positive reviews. Highly recommended!

Disliked: The staff at Winter Hostel are exceptional.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff let us leave our bags at the hostel whilst we went on an overnight trip to Sapa.Was nice of them. Breakfast was mad to order and included in the price.

Disliked: We were supposed to be charged 10.59USD which it said would be converted t local currency when we arrived. The hostel charged us 320 000 dong, which was far different to any exchange rate we could find on the internet (it should have been 230 000 dong).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability