HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Washington DC Washington DC Hostel

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

HOSTEL CUSTOMS
• A valid credit card is required for guaranteed reservations. If you need personal attention or have special needs, please call us or email us
• Please retain your confirmation number when making a reservation
• Maximum number of guests is 10
• A $3 per person, per night Temporary Membership Fee for those who aren't members
• Please show a government issued photo ID upon check-in
• Check-in is at 2:00 PM on your arrival date, and check-out is at 11:00 AM on your departure date. Guests have until 2:00 PM on the date of arrival to cancel their reservation. Any guest who does not call and cancel by 2:00 PM on the date of arrival will be charged one night stay
• Children under 12-years-old must stay with their guardian in a private room. Children 12-18 years-old must stay in the same room with their guardian
• Extension requests made after 11:00 AM on the scheduled date of departure may require the hosteller to switch beds and/or rooms
• FREE in-room lockers are provided (please provide your own lock). A limited number of electronic lockers are available for a small fee
• The maximum length of stay is 14 days within a twelve-month period
• Accommodations are available only to travelers from outside a 55 mile radius of the hostel
• Refunds will be provided using the original method of payment
"Accepted credit cards, for making reservations and paying for stays, are limited to VISA or Mastercard."

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington DC?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 93%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 85%

Showing 11-20 of 203 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Free breakfast, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff (the receptionist came to my room with me at 6AM when I was having trouble with my key card), great kitchen facilities. When I had to change my booking (twice), the staff were happy to accommodate me, and didn't charge for the last minute cancellation. Will definitely stay again!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great hostel. Very good location, free breakfast, low cost laundry ($1 per load) and helpful staff.

Disliked: Very strage pillows (it sounds like you are sleeping on plastic bags!). Also be advised that school groups stay here. It wasn't too much of an issue apart from at breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is good. I like it, esp the guy at the dining hall who requests "Good Morning" in different languages, that's fun. Oh, yeah, i remember his name, John (Is that right, John?).

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, wifi available in all areas we needed. The free breakfast was good. There was enough privacy in our room which was a 10 bed female dorm.

Disliked: None of the staff that we encountered at the front desk were particularly helpful or even happy to be there, I didn't feel welcomed to the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The breakfast is really substantial and served by a really geenial guy that has a lot of enthusiasm for what he does! The kitchen is really clean and modern, I felt happy cooking there. There are lots of free tours/nights that you can join for free that are hosted by local volunteers and I found was a great way of seeing parts of the city I wouldn't have otherwise have seen (eg; the H Street bar tour ��)

Disliked: The lift is painfully slow especially around check out time, the aircon machine in my room (601) was really noisey. Its quite a big hostel which when I first arrived as a lone traveller made it feel a bit impersonal, that said the tours were a great opportunity to meet others.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked to stay here. The staff is supernice, they keep upbthe good mood in the morning at breakfast and take good care of people. The common places were always nice and neat and clean.

Disliked: I couldnt stay longer.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I loved that the large dorms rather than one large open space were separated into small compartments, which gave a lot of privacy. The free tours organized every day were a great way to learn about the city and meet people. It was clean, the breakfast was great, great location and they give out a nice map with a lot of tips, great common facilities.

Disliked: A couple of the reception staff were not very friendly (but they rotate a lot so it was rare)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In a great location a few minutes walk from a key Metro Station as well as the Circulator bus. The hostel has great facilities including a very good kitchen. The common areas are good and the TV area has both cable and Netflix if your inclined to watch!The free breakfast is excellent - be prepared with a good morning in a language other than English though - this is your cost to access the free breakfast!Activities are good with normally one or two each day and all free.The staff are outstanding and having John run the breakfast and always ready with a smile gets your day stated well!

Disliked: OMG the heat! Not the hostels fault at all but if your thinking of coming to DC consider mid spring or mid autumn when it is cooler! Most days we were here was 30-35 degrees C with humidity in the 80% range!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything about this hostel is great. I've stayed in tons of hotels and this is one of the best. The events and location is great.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great feedback and high marks! We look forward to you hopefully staying with us again on your next visit to DC!

Check Availability