Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - City Center San Francisco Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Check in time to hostel rooms is anytime after 3pm on the day of your arrival. If you will arrive to check in after 23:59 on the night of your arrival we recommend contacting the hostel to alert them so your reservation remains in tact and you do not incur a no show fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nicely designed reception and lounge area in ground and first floor. Very clean.

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere. People do not talk to each other there. Worst night I have ever spent in a Hostel, because there was a crazy guy in the dorm talking all night to himself. Plus he went to the bathroom every 15 min througout the night. You could already see that he was crazy from his behavior in the common area, approaching every woman and talking weirdly. I think a crazy person should not be put in a dorm. Of course this is probably a unique experience and just bad luck, still the staff did not care.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: A great hostel with private rooms central to town

Disliked: Homeless outside on some of the neighbouring streets (although that is common in San Francisco).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay and we hope that you give us another chance. Take care. - Anthony, Guest Service Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The best stay and worth for your money the real cheap and best category

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: - Atmoshpere and Staff are nice, a good value stay.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Atmosphere was nice.

Disliked: Breakfast was too late in the day to be useful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We serve complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30 am - 11:30 am. This includes the option to add eggs or pancakes for $1 from 8:30 am - 10:30 am. I do apologize if this information was never made available to you at check in and if the hours were not early enough. Over the years we’ve found these times to be the most conducive to both the needs of our guests and our daily operations. Safe Travels!

Anthony – Front Desk Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good friendly atmosphere and very clean, private bathrooms in each room is a plus.

Disliked: The location. The walk between union square and Ellis street stinks of Urine due to high level of homeless gatherings on the street. While I in no way like to see any individuals left in such poor circumstances it can be quite irritating being constantly asked for spare change standing outside the hostel or walking down the street or being shouted at by groups can become quite intimidating late at night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Really comfy and cosy feel. Loved the decor and enjoyed spending time in the communal areas. Free breakfast and tea/coffee was an added bonus. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The program of events was also a plus for us. We took part in the free China Townwalking tour and this was a definite highlight of our stay in SF!

Disliked: Ever so slightly apprehensive of the area on our first night but we soon worked out a route to and from the hostel where we felt comfortable walking at night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Rooms were clean with nice matresses. Good breakfast. Nice helpful staff.

Disliked: Price was a bit expensive especially when the womens rooms were more then mens. Location was also unfortunate. We parked next door at a hotels garage per the suggestion of the hostel staff for safety. Then walking to the Hostel from Union Square on the Ellis street was uncomfortable for two women due to so many homeless people.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The general feel of the hostel was very cosy and welcoming.

Disliked: Not the greatest location.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability