Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - City Center San Francisco Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Check in time to hostel rooms is anytime after 3pm on the day of your arrival. If you will arrive to check in after 23:59 on the night of your arrival we recommend contacting the hostel to alert them so your reservation remains in tact and you do not incur a no show fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Showing 41-50 of 75 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Great atmosphere for networking and meet new friends. Staffs are friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy.

Disliked: The neighbourhood may be intimidating especially for girls. We traveled in pair and felt unsafe even during the day as there were many homeless people strolling around. However, it is safe inside the property. It's just that it's a bit inconvenient if your plan is to travel until 9-10pm or later at night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place and good deal for what I obtain

Disliked: Location is near the public transportation but the area of the hostel is not pleasant and lots of homeless nearby.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staffs were very friendly and approachable. Am very happy to have stayed here. Location was perfect and the room was very clean.

Disliked: Wanted to purchase some extra eggs and pancakes for breakfast, unfortunately, they only start taking orders from 8:30am.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great facilities (bar!).

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I felt totally comfortable and safe. Everyone was super nice. I can't think of one negative thing about my stay.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay and the staff made sure we got the most out of our 4 days in San Francisco! Lovely spacious room and great value for money. The bagels at breakfast are probably the best I've every had and there was lots of fresh fruit too alongside facilities to store/refrigerate your own food. Room was very tastefully decorated and it was nice that the waste bins were changed every day.

Disliked: I have very few negatives about the hostel, only things that could make it even better would be potentially lining the curtains to help make the rooms darker but I'm really picking at straws here!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think this hostel is valuable. I've stayed at cheeper hostels in San Fran, but I am surprised at the service, hospitality and quality. I got used to taking the low risk and high return in Japan, but I felt the real USA in this hostel.

Disliked: I feel so comfortable that I may dislike other hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Old flair! Comfort and room in the sitting area! They had a landline!

Disliked: Although the area its located in a not so desirable area...it didn't bother me. Used to street people but for others, they might find it scary. So personally, i liked it inside and out!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great bar and common area

Disliked: No power socket for each bunk. In a area full of homeless people. Breakfast just bread and bagels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The atmosphere! The herbs in the entrance, the friendly vibe and the international faces. :)

Disliked: Nothing. The breakfast could be more diverse tho.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability