Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Francisco - City Center San Francisco Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

For bookings with 8 people or more, please contact the hostel's groups department. The property reserves the right to cancel online bookings made for 8 or more guests and your deposit will be lost.

Check in time to hostel rooms is anytime after 3pm on the day of your arrival. If you will arrive to check in after 23:59 on the night of your arrival we recommend contacting the hostel to alert them so your reservation remains in tact and you do not incur a no show fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 78%

Staff 85%

Value 83%

Showing 21-30 of 75 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The way the common areas were decorated and the free breakfast.

Disliked: The location. Seems to be in an unsafe part of SanFrancisco. Also, the staff were helpful enough but they did not seem happy to be helpful and they did not go beyond what was asked. Some places I have stayed, the staff suggest additional things without being prompted which I find really helpful!


The property's response is

Hi there,

I'm sorry you had a bad experience with our staff - usually they are quite friendly and helpful! As for the neighborhood, it is a pretty low-income neighborhood, but it has authentic food, cool bars and art galleries and is super centrally located. We are working towards making this neighborhood a better place for locals and travelers alike.

Thank you for your comments, we take them very seriously.
Cheers,
Mellice - Assistant General Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Genuinely friendly staff and a really relaxes atmosphere. I met some lovely girls in my shared room and felt safe and secure within the hostel. Excellent complimentary breakfast!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Specially the hospitality...amazing

Disliked: No body fitness/gym centre should have weekly medical checkup team for the hostellers

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Big breakfast, nice bed, good to have bathroom in the room.

Disliked: More power outlets needed. It's nearly impossible to charge your phone and keep it close (as I needed to use it as alarm) if you have the top bed.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff comfortable beds someone on the desk 24/24, staff very helpful to point out any attractions or bars in the area

Disliked: They have a bar in the hostel which is good when it it open at 6pm but due to the bar you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol into the facility

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located centrally it is easy to get places, but in a terrible neighbourhood. Many left early as they did not feel safe. Very clean, fresh towel every day is fantastic.

Disliked: Beds are cheap foam so very bad for your back and neck, also cheaply made so if one person moves on their bed, everyone wakes up. Dangerous neighbourhood. Absolutely no vibe. A place to crash, nothing more.


The property's response is

It sounds like we weren't a good fit for you, unfortunately. I'm sorry to hear our mattresses were uncomfortable. They actually do have tempurpedic tops, but they are not for everyone! We really love our vibe - with a full time staff member planning dinners, free walking tours, bar crawls, tea tastings, games and movie nights, we always have a ton going on here at City Center. Our neighborhood does have a lot of poverty, but it also has some cool local bars and delicious food. Mellice (AGM)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Great services, good breakfast, clean rooms

Disliked: Ellis Street is a hotspot for drug dealing

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Was well kept - new looking and clean.

Disliked: Fairly friendly but not the most sociable of hostels. The bar closes early (at 11pm) and they don't allow you to bring your own alcohol. Some of the staff were also fairly rude.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere in the hostel was very good, breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful.

Disliked: The neighbourhood the hostel is in is very bad. You can walk two blocks up and you'll be fine. Would not go out at night alone.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free breakfast & wifi, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Location - unsafe & far out from main tourist sites

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

While our neighborhood is a bit eccentric, the reason why we love it is because it is located right in the middle of the city. We are 6 blocks to Union Square, and only a couple blocks walking to buses that will take destinations all over the city. And since our neighborhood isn't the most comfortable, it is our highest priority that people enjoy the vibe at the hostel. Thanks for the feedback!

Happy travels :)
-Mel
Assistant General Manager

Check Availability