Website feedback

Reviews of Orange Village Hostel San Francisco Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note:
We have a 48hr cancellation policy. A cancellation within 48 hours or a no show will result in a minimum charge for the first night's stay, and a maximum of two nights' stay for stays longer than two nights.

Daily bed rates of $40 or more are subject to a 14% hotel tax and 2.25% city tax (total of 16.25%). Bed rates of less than $30 are taxed a 1% tourist tax, per city regulations. Taxes are added at time of check in.

Last minute reservations: Due to availability, we do not guarantee that guests who book a dorm bed for more than one person will be able to stay in the same room. Please be advised that there may be required room moves for stays of more than one night too.

Our property has a maximum stay of 14 consecutive nights.

We reserve the right to cancel or modify reservations that contain or resulted from a mistake or error

UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS!

ATTENTION ALL GUESTS! The hostel will be undergoing renovation in the lobby area! The construction will take 1 and a half month to complete, expected date is end of May; between the hours of 9AM- 6PM. During the construction, the hostel rooms will be unaffected and still accessible. Also, we will be renovating our building elevator. We are expecting end of April for the completion of a new elevator. During the time the elevator will be out of service and rooms would be accessible only by stairway. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and we will try our best to accommodate all guests staying during the time. Thank you!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Showing 41-50 of 170 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pancake makers the absolute highlight of this hostel, which speaks volumes.

Disliked: Tiny kitchen, not enough toilets / showers, dirty, terribly uncomfortable beds, towels costing, and expensive to boot

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: staffs were kind. Complimentary breakfast was good.

Disliked: I found smoking ash in my room when I checked in. Facilities were too old.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, hold our luggage after checkout in a locked room. Washing machines and dryers available.

Disliked: Small kitchen for all people that stayed there, not that much to chose to eat on the breakfasts. Uncomfortable beds some plastic in the mattress, sounded much when you moved.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, near the metro station and big department stores

Disliked: The surroundings are a bit noisy. There are some beggars in the streets nearby.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet, friendly and safe. The kitchen is very comfortable and you can cook everything if you can.

Disliked: Professional and focus, I will use it next time.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good wifi

Disliked: Awful bedsWeird people coming into the hostel who weren't clientsCockroachesAwful breakfastNo social aspect really

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: best location!

Disliked: room inner is old

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Excellent location - so close to Union Square!

Disliked: Bathrooms really could have used more frequent cleaning. They were fine for the first few days of our stay but on the last evening, the shared bathroom on our floor really was not clean, the toilet was blocked and although we reported it to reception, in the morning it was still blocked and still in the same unsanitary condition it had been the previous evening, which was disappointing because the experience had been perfectly fine until then.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Breakfast is crowded

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, price, staff...all good...for the money it's a bargain

Disliked: Around all the door handles could use a proper clean...used is fine but some things needed a little bit more cleaning

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability