Website feedback

Reviews of Orange Village Hostel San Francisco Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note:
We have a 48hr cancellation policy. A cancellation within 48 hours or a no show will result in a minimum charge for the first night's stay, and a maximum of two nights' stay for stays longer than two nights.

Daily bed rates of $40 or more are subject to a 14% hotel tax and 2.25% city tax (total of 16.25%). Bed rates of less than $30 are taxed a 1% tourist tax, per city regulations. Taxes are added at time of check in.

Last minute reservations: Due to availability, we do not guarantee that guests who book a dorm bed for more than one person will be able to stay in the same room. Please be advised that there may be required room moves for stays of more than one night too.

Our property has a maximum stay of 14 consecutive nights.

We reserve the right to cancel or modify reservations that contain or resulted from a mistake or error

UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS!

ATTENTION ALL GUESTS! The hostel will be undergoing renovation in the lobby area! The construction will take 1 and a half month to complete, expected date is end of May; between the hours of 9AM- 6PM. During the construction, the hostel rooms will be unaffected and still accessible. Also, we will be renovating our building elevator. We are expecting end of April for the completion of a new elevator. During the time the elevator will be out of service and rooms would be accessible only by stairway. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and we will try our best to accommodate all guests staying during the time. Thank you!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Showing 21-30 of 170 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I like the property alot and would recommend to friends

Disliked: i couldnt find anything i dislike about the property

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location

Disliked: Atmosphere, smell, aesthetics of the place

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the location of the property, the staff were very very helpful and the free breakfast is always nice when staying at a hostel as it sets you up for a day of travelling around.

Disliked: It seemed to lack cleanliness a little, the rooms were very dark and gloomy as there was not natural light coming into the room we stayed in. It would get very very hot in the rooms, and often the rooms would smell like weed, which was getting in through the window we had to have open because the rooms were so hot.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This Hostel caters to Koreans who are quiet and repectful, There is plastic wrap to store your food, the other hostels have none...there is plenty of fruit not rationed as in all the other hostels, and dry cereal and waffles or pancakes are complimentary there is also plentiful OJ and 2% milk, at breakfast and the coffee is good. the kitchen is nice and clean, these is cooking spray,

Disliked: there is no butter, only margerine for Breakfast, and unless you ask you only get one sheet, and your towel is often a tub mat, the Koreans get an even smaller hand towel, and do not ask for a second sheet...you may also have to ask for soap, and then they throw it out and do not replace it when they clean the room

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I really liked the breakfast.

Disliked: - the loft beds were not really stable- very small bathroom

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is a work in progress! The building was the former Columbia Hotel and now it is being transitioned into a hostel. Our first room was a double en suite with desk, refrig, microwave. It was comfortable, clean, big enough. When we extended our stay, we moved to a similar room on a higher floor facing the street. It was big and bright but a bit noisy some nights. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is chaotic due to a small kitchen not well organized. This will change when the new lounge is finished and more space for seating and moving around is available. The location is perfect - easy walking to many cafes and shops. Plenty of transit, too. We'd stay here again!

Disliked: Small kitchen but this is changed due to opening of lounge about to happen as we were leaving.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly staff clean rooms. Fun activitys

Disliked: Bunk beds r noisy

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was awesome

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is nice and easy access to visitor information

Disliked: Wifi service often disconnected, need to reconnect often

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place is nice, better than I was expecting.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability