Website feedback

Reviews of Orange Village Hostel San Francisco Hostel

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note:
We have a 48hr cancellation policy. A cancellation within 48 hours or a no show will result in a minimum charge for the first night's stay, and a maximum of two nights' stay for stays longer than two nights.

Daily bed rates of $40 or more are subject to a 14% hotel tax and 2.25% city tax (total of 16.25%). Bed rates of less than $30 are taxed a 1% tourist tax, per city regulations. Taxes are added at time of check in.

Last minute reservations: Due to availability, we do not guarantee that guests who book a dorm bed for more than one person will be able to stay in the same room. Please be advised that there may be required room moves for stays of more than one night too.

Our property has a maximum stay of 14 consecutive nights.

We reserve the right to cancel or modify reservations that contain or resulted from a mistake or error

UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS!

ATTENTION ALL GUESTS! The hostel will be undergoing renovation in the lobby area! The construction will take 1 and a half month to complete, expected date is end of May; between the hours of 9AM- 6PM. During the construction, the hostel rooms will be unaffected and still accessible. Also, we will be renovating our building elevator. We are expecting end of April for the completion of a new elevator. During the time the elevator will be out of service and rooms would be accessible only by stairway. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and we will try our best to accommodate all guests staying during the time. Thank you!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 70%

Showing 11-20 of 170 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the common area and the kitchen. The breakfast offering was also good.

Disliked: Cleanliness has to be better in the rooms and the common living room. The kitchen was always spotless and the other rooms should be the same as well.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is perfect. Nice kitchen and breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff, really nice kitchen and the waffles at the breakfast are perfect

Disliked: Almost no pressure in the showers on the 5th floor

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We liked that we had the option to book a private room and bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was also nice and had a good variety.

Disliked: We would have liked to have lockers in the room for added security.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is very good for getting around the city. The rooms were not too crowded and the lockers big enough for valuables (don't expect to put anything much larger than a daypack in there). The breakfast was excellent too.

Disliked: The ensuite bathroom was very small - it's difficult to have a decent shower in. The kitchen is also very small so when the hostel is busy, it gets very cramped regardless of what time you go down.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the price what location.Other hostels in this area are quite a bit more expensive but this one was relatively cheap, although the other hostels were quite a bit more modern and well equipped.The kitchen was quite nice and the common room was also good.

Disliked: I stayed on the top bunk in a male dorm room. The only two power points in the room were located right next to the heads of the people on the lower bunks, meaning unless you had an uncommonly long phone charger cord, you were forced to either leave your phone very close to the person in the lower bunk or not charge it at all (not very handy for when you need to set an alarm to wake up but dont want to bother other guests).

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: You got a lot for your money at that hostel. The beds are comfortable, you have a nice little bathroom in your dorms and it's overall pretty clean. I liked the kitchen a lot - you can prepare your own meals and you can have a good breakfast in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cleaning staff is great.

Disliked: The front desk has no idea how to treat customers. Completely useless and unhelpful.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really helpful staff. Have luggage room for out of hours checkin/checkout issues - really useful

Disliked: WiFi is weak and frustrating to use because not enough bandwidth to undertake even moderate tasks

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability