Website feedback

Reviews of HI Portland - Northwest Portland Hostel

479 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

The front desk is open 24 hours.

Lodging tax of 15.3% will be added to all overnight fees on arrival. No added membership fees! We are an independently operated hostel, licensed by Hostelling International USA. HI Membership is not required at independently operated hostels.

We have a 24 hour cancellation policy. Please cancel any reservations the day before your reserved date or you will be charged the first night's overnight fees

Please note that as a hostel intended for travelers, we are unable to accommodate residents of the Portland/Vancouver Metro area. Government-issued ID showing residence outside of this area is required upon check-in

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 11-20 of 46 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean

Disliked: Nothing, all good

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice of them to loan out locks for the lockers.

Disliked: Beds didn't seem very clean

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location & info on things to do

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were cute and comfy. The bathrooms were large and clean. The hostel was within walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Parking was a tough obstacle. Wish there were more than four spots of free parking available for all of the hotsel guests...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facility was easy to find and well connected to other venues in the city. There was a lot of literature about good places to visit and where to eat. Excellent for people who don't have every moment planned out!

Disliked: It was a bit boring for a hostel -- everyone in bed by 10/11, few people willing to talk in the common room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super friendly and it didn't take long to walk into town. For $20/night this place is a great place to stay! My only advice: bring your own pillow. The one they give you is very flat.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staffs

Disliked: bathroom water temperature hard to control

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owners were amazing and friendly. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the sustainable aspect of the hostel. The rooms were so clean and tidy. I dont think I ever saw the staff not working. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: This isnt a dislike for me but if you are looking for a party atmosphere hostel then this isnt for you as its more laid back and relaxed...well that's the vibe I got from our stay anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i flet very self after avery bad one at Sun City in Las Vegas where i had my suit case stolen from my locked room so Hi Portland put my faith back in hostels again for me i am 64 years old and have traveled the world so iaa good hostel when i see 1and this is one thanks to the staff once again i can recommend this one no faults at all very good location to

Disliked: if any it would be the breakfast sorry no where is 100%

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability