Website feedback

Reviews of Apple Hostels of Philadelphia Philadelphia Hostel

32 Bank Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106, Philadelphia, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are an independently operated Hostelling International hostel. So while we meet or exceed all of Hostelling International's standards, we do not require our guests to have an HI membership. The is no longer a $3 fee imposed on non-members.

MIXED DORM: Men are not permitted in our mixed dorm room unless traveling with women, no exceptions. Women are always permitted in the mixed dorm room.

GROUPS: Sorry, we will not accept reservations for groups of 8 or more, even if made through multiple reservations, and failure to comply with this will result in your booking(s) being canceled with no refund. Please contact the Groups Department for group reservations.



Cancellation Policy

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 6:00 pm on the day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.


Tax Policy - payable to property and not included in room rate

Plase note: Check-in from 4pm to 6am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Philadelphia?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 167 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


29 Sep 2018

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff was very friendly, location very good. Room was quite big and nice equipment, bathrooms and toilets always very clean.

Disliked: I would like it when breakfast is included for that price. Our room was a bit noisy, because it was on the 2nd floor above the space where people smoke during evening and night. The music in the toilets could be off during nighttime. It was very loud.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating


12 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Conveniently located close to landmarks like the Liberty Bell and shopping options. Friendly staff, clean beds/bathrooms/kitchen area, free coffee. The group activities almost every evening allow you to meet fellow hostellers and make new friends!

Disliked: I would prefer to live in a more central location in the city center, instead of at the corner of it (Although that's not on the hostel but my own preference).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! We love our quiet location near the majority of Philly's sites, but of course everyone has their preferences. If you're here for business and would prefer to be near the office towers I can certainly see how you would prefer to be in that part of town, but most of our guests are here for the nightlife, museums, Independence Park and Convention Center. The important thing though is that you enjoyed yourself! Hope you had a safe trip home!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The external lockers which are monitored by cameras made me feel happy that my belongings were securer. The owner of the hostel actually arranged and runs some of the trips etc, including the bar crawl on a Thursday, which is brilliant.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


05 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location

Disliked: Upstairs

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating


06 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff and the location

Disliked: I cant think of anything.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: friendly staff, good environment.

Disliked: the emergency exit sign was right above my bed. an no control over the lights in the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I'm sorry about the emergency light over your bed. Someone must have moved your bed. We control the lights in the rooms so that no one can come in during the middle of the night and wake everyone up by turning them on. We get lots of compliments for it. If you find that we turn the lights off too early, each bed has its own reading light so you have plenty of light if you want to stay up. Every bed has a privacy curtain so that no one's light disturbs those trying to sleep. I see that you gave us a really low score for "Value". You came during the DNC, which was Philadelphia's busiest week for hotels in the past 10 years. Our prices are normally a great deal less, and we still charged much less than we could have, as we always keep our rates as reasonable as possible.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the hostel is great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Staff were really friendly, organised good events

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Staff (at reception), all of them, very nice people, helpful, kind, the best!- Space in the room. Although the male room has 10 bunk beds (for 20 people) you have enough space for your stuff. Rooms are big enough.

Disliked: - Staff (people who is in charge of cleanliness), rude and impatient- The bathrooms could be cleaner.- 2 floors by stairs with a regular 50 lbs luggage shouldn't be a problem but the stairs are so narrow. You have to decide: your luggage or you!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sorry about the rudeness of our housekeepers. I'm not going to make excuses for them, they are not always the most polite people. However, they've been with us for more than two years. They are incredibly good at cleaning and they are extremely honest trustworthy guys, and those are the exact qualities we need for what they do. It would be great if they we nicer, but that's not what they're there to do. We have wonderful receptionists for that.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! Especially the staff I think they loved me :D

Disliked: Stairs for 3rd floor after evening beers :D

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability