Website feedback

Reviews of Apple Hostels of Philadelphia Philadelphia Hostel

32 Bank Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106, Philadelphia, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

We are an independently operated Hostelling International hostel. So while we meet or exceed all of Hostelling International's standards, we do not require our guests to have an HI membership. The is no longer a $3 fee imposed on non-members.

MIXED DORM: Men are not permitted in our mixed dorm room unless traveling with women, no exceptions. Women are always permitted in the mixed dorm room.

GROUPS: Sorry, we will not accept reservations for groups of 8 or more, even if made through multiple reservations, and failure to comply with this will result in your booking(s) being canceled with no refund. Please contact the Groups Department for group reservations.



Cancellation Policy

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 6:00 pm on the day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.


Tax Policy - payable to property and not included in room rate

Plase note: Check-in from 4pm to 6am.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Philadelphia?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

Showing 31-40 of 167 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location within walking distance of all major Philadelphia attractions, bars, restaurants and shops. There are varied evening activities organised by the hostel, including movie nights and ghost tours which really help to create a community atmosphere. The free beer on most nights really completed the experience!

Disliked: The female dorm, while visibly very clean, smelt a bit of feet which is a bit off putting when you walk through the door.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and nice staff

Disliked: Showers weren't that clean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was one of the best hostels I ever visit.

Disliked: I ordered room for 16 person. But I got it for 24 person. It did not make me any inconvenience it's just to let know.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: An excellent location and very friendly staff. They don't nickle and dime you to death on the little things, like use of a locker, a computer, etc. They went above and beyond with the free things they offered to the guests, such as free beer on two of the nights that I was there (Thats right... free beer).

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the need to have two separate door codes and the fact that it changed daily. Why couldn't we just have key cards? It was only a small inconvenience.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant Hostel!!Lots of activities for travellers to get involved in, clean and comfortable and very safe and secure.The staff are also friendly

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was very clean compared to other hostels we have stayed in. Also enjoyed movie night with free beers

Disliked: We felt that the lights were not turned on early enough in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A fantastic hostel in a great location. Down a pretty alley in beautiful Old City, only 10 minutes walk from most of the major sights of Philly, including the Liberty Bell Centre, Independence Hall, Elfreth's Alley, the US Mint & Penn's Landing. There are lots of cafes & restaurants nearby on Market Street. The hostel is modern & clean, with staff who are friendly & helpful. I stayed in the huge female dorm room, which despite having somewhere around 18-20 beds, was clean & quiet. We had a separate bathroom area for our room, which had 4 toilets, 4 sinks & 4 showers, so plenty of room for everyone to get ready. Access to the hostel & the rooms is controlled by key pads & the code for the main door changes daily, so it feels very safe & secure. The downstairs kitchen area is large, bright & clean & there is free tea & coffee available all day. There is a lounge area on the ground floor by reception, which has a large TV, lots of sofas, computers, wii, guitar & foosball table. Each night during my stay, there was a movie night with free beer, which was fun & a great way to meet other guests. Overall, one of the best hostels I have stayed in - everything has been well thought-out, to ensure guests are comfortable, safe & enjoy their stay.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved this place! The staff is very friendly and helpful! Great location! It's close to so many tourist places like Independence Hall, Penn's Landing and South Street. I will definitely be back!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: location, activities proposed by the staff, modernity, kitchen,

Disliked: the staff wasn't so nice and welcomed

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: very clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: Too many beds in one location and very loud during morning time.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability