Website feedback

Reviews of International Student Center New York Hostel

38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 94%

Safety 82%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:It is very important that you make a note of your arrival time upon booking or email the hostel with these details after booking.
Not doing so could result in a cancellation. <br /><br /> Please note that we can only accommodate young people and students between the ages of 18 and 35.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 94%

Safety 82%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Showing 11-20 of 47 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked being on a girls only floor, it made me feel very comfortae and secure. I loved the location of the property. I loved the price of a nights stay at this hostel. Very reasonable price and a good stay for the price.

Disliked: The temperature was very variable inside, it was either really hot or very cold, there was no happy medium. The hostel didn't offer a lot of group activities, only pizza on Tuesdays and jazz on Thursdays, which was interestingb given that they seem to pride themselves on not having wifi and "fostering a social atmosphere".

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near to the subway. Excellent location.

Disliked: Boring atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location

Disliked: -Is not possible to have big luggage in your room- there is not Wifi

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not a lot

Disliked: Given a key that didn't work for the front door meaning yah with no staff on duty we had to wait outside at 2am until someone else came back so we could go in with them. When telling staff what had happened there was little apology. Later when we went back to collect our bags we were accused of having kept a key. No one checking in the baggage area that the bag you pick up / take things out of actually is yours, doesn't feel secure at all.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The restrooms were always clean and it's located one station from the natural history museum and 5 from time square

Disliked: The check out is at 11:00 and I had to wait til 12 for the shuttle and the guy that was in charge at that moment did not let me stay in the waiting room even it was empty and no more guest we're waiting and it was really cold outside.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, and price

Disliked: no wifi, and desk front schedule

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff is really helpfulWashroom is clean

Disliked: only two washroomsthey are not enough especially in the morningBesides the door of room can't be locked

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Near the underground station at 86th st and a lovely neighbourhood + own key.

Disliked: Not being able to access your own luggage after 11pm, if u forget your towel for example you have to wait until the office opens at 8am (no large bags allowed upstairs). Also, there were only two bathrooms to be shared between the girls only dorms - so over 15 people, meaning the line in the mornings was ridiculous. Expensive internet (10min for $1) and not being able to lock your room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location in Manhattan and the price! Very friendly staff. You can come back at anytime thanks to key you got at check-in ($10 deposit).

Disliked: Wifi would be a plus, but I knew before going that there is not, and do not change the fact that I'd stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Storage after check-out has a fee.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability