Website feedback

Reviews of HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Los Angeles Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

**Non Members will pay an additional $4.00 per night. Occupancy Taxes are not included
**Maximum stay is 14 nights during each calendar year. No extensions will be granted and guests may not make back-to-back reservations
**Please be Advised: If you are making a reservation for more than 1 guest we will try our best to keep you in the same room however it will depend on our availability at check in time.

Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

**Accommodations are only available to travelers outside the Los Angeles County Area**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 142 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating


29 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Very nice hostel with extreamly friendly and helpful stuff.

Disliked: To expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


28 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier - about 5 mins walk. On Tuesdays you can get a discount for the red tour bus from next door, although you can get the tube/metro instead for less than 2 dollars. Hollywood & Highland is the best stop to get off for Hollywood. Staff were brilliant. Great garden area for chilling out in. Nice breakfast options. (Amazing Samuel French bookshop on Sunset Boulevard if you enjoy reading plays.)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location and the unique design

Disliked: I wished there were locks on the lockers in the dorm rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for your feedback! Over the years, we have found that most backpackers and travellers prefer to rely on their own locks when securing their valuables, and not on uniform provided safes, which is why we offer this option to our guests. If you do not have a lock, we do sell them at the front desk for only $5 and they are yours to keep and reuse on your future hostel adventures! We are glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime! Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms were often quite dirty, showers had only a curtain, no door or cubicle

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks so much for your review! We so appreciate your feedback, as we are always trying to improve. We will pass your comments on to our housekeeping team! We hope you have a great rest of your trip!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Come visit us again soon! Bon Voyage!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


20 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: This place is all about location. Two blocks from the beach, a block from the main shopping strip and a ten minute walk to the pier.

Disliked: Atmosphere was slightly dull. Rooms were very very warm on a hot day. No A/C and some rooms without even a fan. Makes for an uncomfortable sleep on a warm night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff is very helpfull. The rooms are fairly big and clean. Breakfast included which is always a plus.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities could need some work.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good location, near many restaurants, pubs, and stores to shop at. Not too noisy, free breakfast, good wifi.

Disliked: Too expensive for what you receive (below average breakfast), no pool, showers were either cold or boiling hot.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean, safe, good location

Disliked: Cold showers!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The location was fantastic and the lounge was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bathrooms were clean but other than that, quite awful. Hot water was very limited and there was little privacy in terms of getting changed as and putting personal items while showering.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the issues you had with your stay. We will notify your comments about how to make our shared bathrooms more private for guests. We hope that you give us another chance to stay with us soon.

Check Availability