Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Parthenon Hostel Chicago Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

We have a 48-hour cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Cancellations must be made via email.

The local city tax of 17.4% is not included here and will be added to your balance, due at check in.

All guests paying their balance by credit card will be charged an additional 3% merchant fee. Cash accepted.

Local Chicago Residents are not permitted at the hostel.

Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed in the dorms. Minors can stay at the hostel in a private room with an adult.

****Please note***** In the months of January and February the front desk is closed from 12 am to 7 am. If you will be arriving during these times, please send us an email, letting us know so we can accommodate you.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 41-50 of 144 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's close to downtown. Great for tourists!

Disliked: The Wifi and the lack of socialism between the guests!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Sometimes, Wifi was not working.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good sized rooms, friendly and helpful staff, that give good advice on attractions and the city.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: This hostel is located right in the middle of Greektown, near the U.I.C. campus. It is within a 10-minute walk of Union Station, the Greyhound terminal, and Chicago's bus and train system. The rooms were clean, and were perhaps recently rennovated. There is free Wi-Fi at this property, common rooms for recreation, and free breakfast at the adjoining Parthenon Restaurant, with fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, toast, and coffee/tea/juice from 7:30 - 10:00 AM.I had a great stay, and would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Chicago.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel had a great price, and is located in Greektown which is very conveniently located a few blocks from the train station and one block from an El stop. Greektown feels very safe, has some nice Greek restaurants and has a lot of offerings for night life. I would stay here again. It is a great value.

Disliked: The patrons were as accommodating as they could be, but really could not be very helpful with Chicago knowledge. Any question we asked, they just referred us to a guidebook or pamphlet. I asked one of the managers about Little Italy, which is just a few blocks away, and he said he had never even been there. There also wasn't really the usual spirit I get from hostels where people are encouraged to mingle and meet each other. Everyone seemed very much to themselves, and I think a big part of it was just how the building is set up and how breakfast is structured. There are a lot of small tables instead of large ones, and sometimes you are even hustled out if you're done eating.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked how the floor was very spaced out and easy to find bathrooms and common rooms.

Disliked: .The hostel had a limited assortment of items at their one vending machine.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was quite convenient. It's very close to the bus station and to the Blue Line. There is also a 24-hour Walgreens close by where you can purchase goods and transit passes. The hostel was quiet at night and guests were never rowdy. Everyone was friendly, including staff.The breakfast was simple, but it was nutritious and filling enough to take on a day's worth of traveling :) it consisted of hard-boiled eggs, bread and jam, cereal, juices, water, and tea. Compared to other hostels in Chicago, this hostel was pretty affordable. My experience here makes me want to choose staying at hostels as a form of lodging.

Disliked: Perhaps this just happened to coincide with my stay, but the WiFi reception on the hostel's computers and on my laptop was virtually non-existent, which made it difficult to connect to the Web when trying to look onto Google Maps or something travel-related, especially.It wasn't as social as I had anticipated, both among hostel goers and the hostel itself. I didn't hear of any activities or bar-crawls planned, and I would have really enjoyed that. The hostel could have been a little cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very helpful..The breakfast was excellentThis is good value for Chicago..very handy to transport..busses the el...main railway ststion..

Disliked: only thing that I didnt like was I was on the third floor...no lift..

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were pleasant and secure. Use of the computer/communal area is great and the location is brilliant, right next door to a huge market and two blocks down from the amazing Lou Mitchell's.

Disliked: The only downside was our room (private double) was one of the very few rooms that are facing the street, this wasn't a problem until Saturday night when the restaurant next door played music until 3:30am. Normally this wouldn't be an issue because we (and I'm sure most teen travellers) would be out but I had sun stroke and being kept up didn't help. I'd advise couples to request a room that isn't facing the street.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to downtown and subway station. Easier to get to airport. Very comfortable beds. Very clean and tidy!

Disliked: Wifi is too slow sometimes! So few Bathrooms... More variety for breakfast please?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability