Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Parthenon Hostel Chicago Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

We have a 48-hour cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Cancellations must be made via email.

The local city tax of 17.4% is not included here and will be added to your balance, due at check in.

All guests paying their balance by credit card will be charged an additional 3% merchant fee. Cash accepted.

Local Chicago Residents are not permitted at the hostel.

Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed in the dorms. Minors can stay at the hostel in a private room with an adult.

****Please note***** In the months of January and February the front desk is closed from 12 am to 7 am. If you will be arriving during these times, please send us an email, letting us know so we can accommodate you.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 21-30 of 144 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was all right,The location is pretty good.The staff where friendly.

Disliked: The shower was kind of small with no too much space.I didn't like so much the idea that they charge extra pay for services which i find elementary, like supplying a towel, and baggage storage for the checkout day.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Private room good and spacious. On a busy road.

Disliked: No bin in room. Wifi quite dodgy. Lots of stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location to downtown was perfect for what we were looking for! It was also pretty close to a nice area for nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing made it a negative experience.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We got a warm,friendly welcome when we arrived. The room and the bathroom were really clean.The breakfast in the morning is perfectly adequate with cereal,juice,hot drink,fruit and toast.The location is good for a large city. We walked everywhere so I can't comment on the bus services.

Disliked: About the only thing we could think that could be improved would be the Wi-Fi. On the first day in particular, the service kept dropping out and we noticed that a lot of people were sitting on the stairs to access the internet.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really good despite wi fi conectione. Breakfast was taste:)

Disliked: Wifi reception

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: newly renovated, big and nice roomseasy way to the airport

Disliked: not all of the staff was friendlycouldn´t lock the showers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great bar downstairs with friendly staff. Clean and tidy and the beds were a lot bigger than other hostels.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Breakfast included and served in restaurant room.Clean bathrooms.Good beds.A lot of interesting people gathers there.

Disliked: No elevator, many stairs.Internet breaking up (connection looses).The same poor breakfast every day.No room service (cleaning).Door locks poorly working (takes some time to learn how to effectively close the door to your room).

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I liked that it was located close to everything I needed to do, and we were able to have our bicycles with us. And when I complained about not being able to sleep the previous night because of a loud concert below me, they quickly relocated me, and offered to reimburse a portion of that night's fee.I liked that I had to use a key to get into the building-it made me feel safer. The breakfast was great, nothing fancy, but I love oatmeal, bananas, and boiled eggs and juice, so it was perfect for me. They also had toast and cereals. This was my first time ever to Chicago, and would definitely recommend this guesthouse for anyone to stay.

Disliked: Didn't like the concert that started at 12:30am and continued until 2:30am., right below my room. But see above comments-they were very willing to accommodate me and move me to another room, and the next night couldn't hear the concert at all (only happens on Friday and Saturday nights)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability