Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Parthenon Hostel Chicago Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

We have a 48-hour cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. Cancellations must be made via email.

The local city tax of 17.4% is not included here and will be added to your balance, due at check in.

All guests paying their balance by credit card will be charged an additional 3% merchant fee. Cash accepted.

Local Chicago Residents are not permitted at the hostel.

Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed in the dorms. Minors can stay at the hostel in a private room with an adult.

****Please note***** In the months of January and February the front desk is closed from 12 am to 7 am. If you will be arriving during these times, please send us an email, letting us know so we can accommodate you.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 144 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very close to the blue line, cheap and clean

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean and quiet

Disliked: no elavator

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliness, helpful advice of staff, breakfasts

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Even though our HostelBookers confirmation provided a USD amount owing we were charged additional $$ due to apparent taxes

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I like its location ... That is it.

Disliked: Room and bed were smilly

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly ...Cookie who checked me in was very helpful and informative about restaurants and public transportation. ...the atmosphere was good the private room I had was roomy ...no TVs in therooms but there was a TV room ..for me it felt like a throw back to the 50s. ..beds were pillow top and also had good pillows. ..location. .location. .location. .very centrally located I came in for the Blues Festival and it was only 3 stops and a couple blocks walk to Grant Park and Lake Michigan....anything you need is within walking distance.Blue line by the way was only a 2 minute walk and its right by Giordanos absolutely the best deep dish pizza I've ever had...will I stay there again. ..absolutely. ..

Disliked: There were a few things that would have improved the stay.like if there was an elevator. ..private bath ...steak and eggs for breakfast. .but that wasn't what I was paying for. ..did it meet my expectations. ...no..It Exceeded them...thank you for a pleasurable stay....

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing in particular but it was nice

Disliked: Quilts is not clean their fabric does not help for hyiegen

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They have good breakfasts here and hot showers. You don't always know how good the water is going to be at a hostel so that was a nice surprise.

Disliked: The wifi cut out all the time. There also isn't much atmosphere and people don't mingle at all. As solo traveller it would have been nice to meet more people. I also had to pay $104 despite my booking on hostel bookers saying my bill in local currency was $88. So I kind of feel like I got ripped off. And if you're Australian and your dollar is weak that bit extra kind of adds up. For three nights in a dorm $104 is a bit steep.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quirky stairs and location

Disliked: Not mentioned in the website that its beside the parthenon restaurant

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly! I loved it, if you had any questions they were more than willing to help you and have great suggestions on places to visit and eat. The hostel is VERY clean!!!

Disliked: It does get cold there at night so just bring extra blankets or wear layers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability