Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel Chicago Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Express check-in / out
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note this Hostel policies before booking:
- 7 days Cancellation policy.
- We cannot guarantee bunk bed placement(top or bottom).
- Check-In: 3pm
- Check-Out: 11am
- Minimum Age to register in dorms is 18.
- Guests under 18 are welcome in our private rooms while accompanied by a guest 21 years or older.
- Guests residing in a US zip code that begins with “60” will not be permitted.
- A valid state ID or passport is required at arrival
- Payment is collected in full at check-in
- Taxes of 17.4% will be added to the “due at arrival” fee on your confirmation.
- We have a maximum stay of 14 nights in dormitories.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 239 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff always willing to help. Free WiFi and breakfast really allowed me to get the most out of my stay. Although not in the heart of the city. Its in a great location that feels very safe and has quick access to public transport and Clark St which has plenty of shops for food and supplies.

Disliked: Although the lobby was newly renovated, the rooms weren't in the greatest condition and the bathrooms could have been cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at Chicago Getaway Hostel! it's great to see that our WIFI and free breakfast allowed you to make the most out of your stay. We're always upgrading our building - so stay tuned for updates to the rooms in the next months. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location in a vibrant neighborhood. Lots of seating

Disliked: I stayed in a room in the basement, would have preferred to have been upstairs. Not really a complaint just a personal preferance

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings- Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope you'll choose to come back for a future visit! Best regards, Mat Meadows - General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location on a quiet street in a neighbourhood with blues bars, restaurants and parks all 20 minutes from down town on the L. Perfect.

Disliked: Takes a little over an hour to get to and from the airport, but it's an easy trip.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings:
Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us! The city is working on plans to decrease the amount of time it takes to get from ORD to Downtown in the upcoming years! Hope to have you back with us in the future.
Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean and close to the university which means near to all things that somebody will need.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings-
Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll come stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff, the silence, localization and the neighbors.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! We're always happy when a guest has an incredible experience at our property - based on your 100% review, it looks like we beat your expecations. Hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: T'was good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings:
Thanks for taking the time to review Chicago Getaway Hostel! We appreciate your feedback.

Best Regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Really nice hostel on the edge of Chicago but close enough to go downtown / beaches /lake. Place is clean, has free lockers, breakfast and all the usual good stuff. No problems with noise from the road so not sure why others talk about that. Definitely recommend this place!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings:

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hostel with the online community.

Hope to see you around our friendly confines again in the future!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the hostel was in great condition and very clean. Staff were extremely helpful, location was great - really close to public transport links, the lake shoreline, good bars and restaurants.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greettings:

Thanks for sharing your experience with the Hostelbookers community! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - and hope to see you on upcoming visits to Chicago!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manage

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and liked that there was a bathroom with a shower in our room! Also that the towels were included.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Christina:
Thanks for the review, we're glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness and value of our facility. We hope that you'll choose to stay at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future!
Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to lincoln park

Disliked: Not so close to downtown

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Greetings:
Thanks for writing a review of hour hostel. I'm sorry that you didn't find our hostel to exceed your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible stay. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to a a future opportunity to host you.
Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Check Availability