Website feedback

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel Chicago Hostel

616 West Arlington Place, Chicago, Chicago, USA

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Express check-in / out
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note this Hostel policies before booking:
- 7 days Cancellation policy.
- We cannot guarantee bunk bed placement(top or bottom).
- Check-In: 3pm
- Check-Out: 11am
- Minimum Age to register in dorms is 18.
- Guests under 18 are welcome in our private rooms while accompanied by a guest 21 years or older.
- Guests residing in a US zip code that begins with “60” will not be permitted.
- A valid state ID or passport is required at arrival
- Payment is collected in full at check-in
- Taxes of 17.4% will be added to the “due at arrival” fee on your confirmation.
- We have a maximum stay of 14 nights in dormitories.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chicago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 91%

Safety 97%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 239 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: great staff & great facilities.

Disliked: nothing really - juice with breakfast might have been a nice addition ?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

David,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time you're in Chicago!

Kane
Front Desk Representative

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean!

Disliked: Was hard to meet people, felt more like a hotel than a 'friendly' hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for visiting us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel! Reviews such as these let us know what’s on our guests’ minds and help us make your next stay a little better. We’re glad you enjoyed our amenities! Letting us know what you think is definitely welcomed and we hope that the next time you plan your trip to Chicago, you’ll stop by just to “getaway”. Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was such a great stay!The Rooms were very clean and the people are very friendly and funny!Espeacially the 2 kitchen ladies! They're funny as hell!Also the location is great, it's in a very good neighborhood, and you feel very safe there anytime. The hostel also comes with a lot of activities like bar crawls, or free BBQ. But the best Part of staying in such a nice hostel ist the people you met there, so many cultures and nice people at one spot is just great!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for visiting us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel! Reviews such as these let us know what’s on our guests’ minds and help us make your next stay a little better. We’re glad you enjoyed our amenities! Letting us know what you think is definitely welcomed and we hope that the next time you plan your trip to Chicago, you’ll stop by just to “getaway”. Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: theverything, reason why I choice it from other many hostels

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a very trendy kind of place. Not like other hostels I have been to. In fact, this felt more like a hotel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. Great facilities, super friendly staff, nice dorms, clean bathrooms, free breakfast and lots of affordable nearby restaurants. Quite easy to walk to most of the attractions.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little far away but no big deal. Around an hour walk to the Loop but worth it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working with our maintenance crew on facilitating more bathroom options. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Was very organised and easy to live in.

Disliked: Bit far away from city centre.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff, location, security

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was a pleasant atmosphere and very clean.

Disliked: There was no place to park

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for visiting us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel! Reviews such as these let us know what’s on our guests’ minds and help us make your next stay a little better. We’re glad you enjoyed our amenities! We want you to know that we are also working on facilitating better parking situations. Letting us know what you think is definitely welcomed and we hope that the next time you plan your trip to Chicago, you’ll stop by just to “getaway”. Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and professional.

Disliked: In description vaguely implied parking was available. They have a limited number of spots for sale, definitely not included in the price and rarely available.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for visiting us at the Chicago Getaway Hostel! Reviews such as these let us know what’s on our guests’ minds and help us make your next stay a little better. We’re glad you enjoyed our amenities! We want you to know that we are also working on facilitating better parking situations. Letting us know what you think is definitely welcomed and we hope that the next time you plan your trip to Chicago, you’ll stop by just to “getaway”. Sincerely, Mat Meadows General Manager

Check Availability