Website feedback

Reviews of Orient Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Showing 41-50 of 139 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Is is literally 3 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia and even though it is about 7 minutes to the tram, I managed getting to the hostel from the airport with public transportation and heavy luggage. The staff is very helpful, the restaurant downstairs with the 10% discount is tasty too and is overall the perfect hostel for my city trip. I was there for 2 nights and actually came back on my return flight because it was so optimal.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. The fact that if you take public transportation, you have to drag your luggage uphill on cobble stone is a little bit tiresome but that is the only negative thing I could think about .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a great place to stay, the staff is friendly and helpful and the view from the roof terrace is simply stunning! Also they let me in at 9 in the morning so I could at least leave my stuff in the dorm and have a shower before heading into town :)

Disliked: The dorms are a bit cramped, but as long as it's not completely full it's not really a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, and location.

Disliked: No roof on the rooftop terrace cafe, many other hotels around us have a roof to protect from sun and from the rain. The addition of a roof would benefit the Orient Hostel terrace cafe.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Decent, safe location (although most food around the area is sorely overpriced), very clean restrooms (I was impressed), lockers for your things, quiet at night (except on weekends when the bar stays open longer), availability of breakfast in the morning and bars at night.

Disliked: While some of the staff was very helpful, a few members were downright rude. Not really a reason not to go there, but something to keep in mind. They wouldn't let you drink your own water in the bar even if you ordered something else because they sold water, as well. You could, however, eat your own food in their bar as long as they did not offer it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was unbelievably helpful and very friendly .. also offer airport transfer for a good price!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was great, I loved the view from the roof's tarrace.

Disliked: One could say, that breakfasts are not sophisticated, but I have to disagree: watermelons, Turkish salty cottage cheese, olives and hard boiled eggs are the essentials of this country and taste great, additionally I lost 2 kilograms on weigh.:)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooftop terrace provides excellent atmosphere and views. The staff here are superb; they're personable and extremely helpful and will go out of their way to provide directions, recommendations, etc. Downstairs bar has a great ambience, drinks and food prices are on par with the rest of the area. Clean rooms, breakfast included, and they take credit cards without issue. Also close to public transport, making it easy to get around the city. Definitely a place I'd recommend to anyone looking for a fun, clean and affordable place to stay in Istanbul.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, good social areas, secure and location great for tourists.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very superb and relaxed vibe, as soon as I met Sadi at reception I noticed this...he made jokes, was very vibrant (and it was early...6 a.m.) which really was appreciated. The cafe had everything you really needed, the rooftop cafe had a gorgeous view and the breakfast was enough to satisfy oneself.Can't complain about in facilities - everything fantastic!They organised shuttles to airport - super cheap (both sabiha gokcen and attaturk) and tours to gallipoli.I want to share a story: I stored my passport in the safety deposit box at reception and was given a key, which I lost. Unfortunately due to a specific system I could not access this lock in any way without the key; I could only vaguely remember the position of the box (we were going to have to break open the boxes and I was told it might be expensive).Of course I freaked out, here this was happening four hours before my flight. It seemed like I would have to book another flight and spend heaps of money on some things if I could not get this lock open ASAP.This is where I have to give them DAMN GOOD PRAISE, these staff were SUPERB. Sadi and his friend (unfortunately I forgot his name) working that night (it was the middle of the night) told me to calm down (I was freaking out). One of them said 'don't worry you will make your flight'. I was so shaken I did not believe them.So I went and smoked a cigarette and calmed down. They came to me an hour later and told me they had got my passport. I was in shock, I don't have to spend an insane amount of money and I'm going to make my flight??? WOW. THESE ARE GOOD PEOPLE. I was so impressed with them, so impressed.TRUST IN THIS HOSTEL. You will not regret staying here. All the staff - exceptional

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect location close to the main sights of Istanbul. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability