Website feedback

Reviews of Orient Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 92%

Showing 11-20 of 139 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: As soon as I arrived to the hostel, I was welcomed in a really friendly way, offered a Turkish tea :) Orient Hostel takes place at the very heart of the old town, 2 minutes walking distance both to Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. I booked for 30 bed dorm and they upgraded my booking without any extra charge to an 8 bed dorm since they were not in high season. The room was super clean and the breakfast was nice. They also helped me a lot for my travel arrengements about going other parts of Turkey. Especially Hasan helped me a lot, for tickets and tours to Capadocia and Pamukkale.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff is very helpful and friendly and knowledgable of the area and many other parts of the country and willing to help further travels. Even when it is raining and cold and everyone is sitting in the cafe inside everyone is fun to hang out with. I would recommend staying here.

Disliked: The room was very hot, but I guess that is better than it being too cold. Not much to complain about. As far as hostels go the orient is very nice

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at the Orient Hostel very much. It was really easy to meet new people there. The little bar /restaurant in the house was a great place to find friends. I also enjoyed, that you didn t have to go out for meals all the time. The food was really good and cheap (try the casserole!!)The atmosphere was really relaxed and i felt welcome from the first moment. The guys at the 24/7 reception are always happy to help. Breakfast on the rooftop always impressing (view to the asian side, Hagia Sophia and the blue mosque). The food itself was good aswell.I can only recommend a stay at the Orient Hostel, especially if you are traveling on your own and are interested in meeting people from all over the world.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved Orient Hostel. It is one of the cheapest hostels around but you get more than what you pay. I stayed there twice! The staff are amazing and so helpful and super friendly, anyone can be at your service whenever you needed anything, also the general atmosphere is so cozy and you feel like home the moment you step in. I really recommend this Hostel to any traveler.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff. Awesome atmosphere. Just a good place in general that is fairly cheap.

Disliked: The 30 person dorm has little ventilation so it is very hot down there and can get very stuffy/smelly.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff (as everywhere we visited in Turkey) were super-friendly, and the atmosphere very easy-going and relaxed. The open roof terrace, right below the Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque, has a view to die for; on the opposite side one can gaze out across the Bosphorous. A perfect place for a summer breakfast, before the sun starts beating down hard.

Disliked: The room was a bit tatty (peeling paint, scuffed uneven floors), and the shared shower and toilet facilities were old - though functional. This would not have mattered except that we afterwards found a different hostel not far away with much a better maintained room including en suite bathroom for virtually the same price. A Turkish tourist guide commented "Orient Hostel, very old established hostel, one of the first" and this rang true - old, almost hippy-style, chipped at the edges and in need of a metaphorical new coat of paint.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Incredibly helpful staff, very clean and neat rooms. Location is perfect for the Haiga Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and for taking the tram anywhere up the waterfront to the ports or Taksim square. Reasonably priced restaurant downstairs and good free breakfast! Fast wifi in all the rooms.

Disliked: No common room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Especailly sadi and beruk (sorry about the spelling)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The service was wonderful and all the staff were friendly and helpful during their work hours as well as after their work hours, especially Burak. They were very accommodating and knowledgable. Sadi even upgraded my room for no extra charge. I would 100% stay here the next time I come back. As the ratings say, the facilities and rooms are so clean and comfortable. The street can get pretty loud at night if you are staying in a room with a street view, but that is to be expected when staying at a lively hostel area.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability