Website feedback

Reviews of House No.11 Chiang Mai Hostel

11/2 Moonmuang rd. Soi 6, T. Sripoom, A. Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 70%

Location 91%

Safety 81%

Staff 70%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 70%

Location 91%

Safety 81%

Staff 70%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 45 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean, safe and comfortable. The building is new and the beds are very comfortable

Disliked: The vibe of the workers, the price compared to the other hostels that are on the same street. You can get a much cheaper (but not as new) private room in the same location.


The property's response is

We sell quality, our mattress is our signature. Our place also cleanest in this location. For the pricing, we had checked with many places in this area we think our price is quite similar to other (some also more expensive than us). We also have maid to clean room & change fresh towel everyday . Just only few place which cheap but its not new & clean as us (u get what u pay).
By the way, these guests also ask us to use our clean toilet after they check out few times and we also welcome them.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and v good facilities

Disliked: Have to pay 40bath for towel

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms were modern, location ok

Disliked: The owner or manager seemed set on ripping you off at every turn. Thus hotel is already expensive compared to others in the area. Charging people to store bags is ridiculous and he was adding his cut on to everything else on offer. There are much nicer places to stay, we moved after 2 nights.


The property's response is

We already show the storage fee on the web page and we think we fair enough because we have to take responsibility for there stuffs. It will be free of charge when the guest buy any tours with us (win-win situation). Most the hostel in these area also do the same what we charge. We had checked our booking during that week and found that, we fully booked (thats let him cant stay longer). Lastly, he also came back to stay with us even he said we more expensive (u get what u pay).

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Guesthouse: House No. 11 in Chiangmai, ThailandStaying period: 16-17 Nov 2013Five of us booked 1 x double room and 1 x triple on 16-17 Nov in House No. 11 via hostel.com.However we were told that the double room had some "unfixable" electricity problem ONLY on our arrival day, 16 Nov. Yes the owner did offer full refund on the double room, but we did not take it as 16-18 Nov was Loi Khratong festival in Thialand and EVERYWHERE was fully booked!!! And it is very irresponsible for the guesthouse to kick us out just like that! End up five of us have to squeeze in a tiny triple room on 16 Nov. One of the guy who claimed that he is the guesthouse owner did promised he will try to fix the double room or at least find us another hotel / guesthouse in CM for the next day (17 Nov).We never hear anything from him or anyone any arrangements from the guesthouse since then. Another friend of us from Singapore joined five of us on 17 Nov and she was treated rude by the so called "owner" when she was trying to inquire something with the reception."Hey hey hey!!! You should only talk to me!!! I'm the owner!" How on earth suppose she could tell which one is the owner and in any circumstances you should not raise your voice to your guest like that.We checked out on 18 Nov morning. On 19 Nov morning my friend LL went back house no. 11 to obtain the receipt for the hotel stay and she found out they charged us FULL AMOUNT for the double and tripple for two nights! I admit that there was certainly some miscommunication when she paid on 16 Nov (as she never requested for the receipt on the spot) so I return with her for the second time to confront with the owner.Here comes to the fun part.Owner: Oh great! Second time! Not again! I do not want to repeat! Please ask your friend to explain to you.Me: I want to know why you charge us FULL amount for the double room whereas we never get to use it? Owner (emotionally): I did offer full refund, FULL REFUND BUT LL REFUSED AND AGREED TO SQUEEZE ALL IN ONE SAME ROOM!Me: It is because you could not arrange another room or fix the room on time? In a very general sense, you should not charge in full amount!Owner (knowing his fault but still raising his voice ridiculously): Now who is talking huh? You or she (LL)? I DO NOT WANT TO TALK TO YOU YOU THIS ASIAN!!!!!! Even you have lawyer with you now I'll also say the same you these ASIAN PEOPLE! (We were like Wtf????)Me (triggered my fire): For god's sake, I am your guest too. I stayed and I paid. And I just want to get the problem settled, DO NOT FINGER POINT ME!Owner (looks like he want to beat me up and went completely out of control): I want point anyway you this lady watch your manner! You should not talk to a gentleman like that! When I talk to a lady I will be polite!Me:.......(you sure bout that?????F u) Harlo whatever I just want to get the problem settled. Clearly there was miscommunication incurred, we accept half refund.Owner (unbelievably in his own madness): NO YOU ARE NOT GETTING ANYTHING!And another guy stepped in and asked what happened. He stopped his emotionally partner and offered us FULL refund. We walked out happily with our money. Emotional owner: I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOU AGAIN!!!Me: See you in Tripadvisor!Mad man: GO AHEAD!Me: Thank you and have a nice day!!! And we laugh.I wish that you have good business ahead

Disliked: a very-very -very-rude owner, and discrimination ASIAN!!

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Disliked: No toiletpaper?!! and no hairdryer provided. Some friends, who had been guests in house No.11 themselves, stored a bag in our room and had to get it in the morning. So apparently someone from the staff saw this and told the owner via walkie talkie. We where then asked how many people stayed at our room last night which is ridicoulos since he already knew about the stored bag and our room was veru small. Did not create a good atmosphere. Owners dont make such a nice impression.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have right to ask because our room is fit for 2 ppl (while they came down 4 ppl). Moreover, we NEVER say we provide hairdryer here. Sometime we have to face with ppl looking something over their spending (stay here only 500 THB while her expectation gonna be 5,000 THB).
Lastly, still now, this guest still come to use our common area and our facilities 555...

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating


02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: Didn't provide toilet paper

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, easy to walk to sights and night markets. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms were on the smaller side and we had a room with a clear door for the bathroom so it was awkward that you could see into the bathroom especially when someone was using it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had air con, a balcony, unlimited hot water, free coffee, fresh sheets & fresh towels daily.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. I enjoyed my 5 nights here a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My stay House No. 11 was one of my best hostel experiences ever. The owners and the staff could not have been better in any way. They cleaned our rooms each day and the rooms were great and still very cheap. We loved house No. 11 so much and I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Chang Mai.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay, modern large room. Owner friendly and very helpful. Organised all our trips and transfers. Close to all night markets.

Disliked: Slow Internet

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability