Website feedback

Reviews of MD House Chiang Mai Hostel

18/6 Rajvithee Rd., Amphur Maung, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 62%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 65%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chiang Mai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 62%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 65%

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Near the rustic area. Easy to get food.

Disliked: The bed was not comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was friendly, no problem to switch room because of defect toilet flush.

Disliked: It's most about it is not clean. The bath in general, especially something recognisable as the mirror. The sheets and the towels were also not clean. The water in the pool was also not that clean. I took a swim nonetheless and is was okay I think.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Did l??

Disliked: Location

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Place was dirty and dark.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was my favorite hostel I stayed in while in Thailand; the people were really friendly and hugely helpful with getting around and finding things to do, the breakfast service was great (actual prepared meals that you ordered like scrambled eggs and toast), the room was clean and they provided water bottles daily, the 2 swimming pools were great as well. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are going to Chiang Mai! In addition to all of the great things the hostel itself has to offer, it's also in a really great location for restaurants, finding transportation (tuk tuks and taxis), nightlife, and markets (the weekend market were a 5 minute walk).

Disliked: The only thing I wished was different was that there wasn't wifi access in the rooms, only in the lobby and computer room.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff managed to check us in early which was good.We had to change money prior to paying for our room and on taking us to our room the staff member asked to hold-my passport to guarantee payment, I refused to leave my passport.Ongoing noisy construction when we stayed.Beds are as hard as a rock.Guesthouse is clean and well located.Breakfast uninspiring. On check out the desk Clerk was surly and very unhelpful regarding finding transport to the airport.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Wifi. Pool. Friendly staff. Tour desk, no hassle.

Disliked: Key card controls air con & fridge. Leave card in & take key!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is very convenient for looking around the Old City.

Disliked: In addition to the comments above, the place was very noisy and the restaurant area and seating area around the pool was really dirty - nobody seemed to be clearing the tables of all the empty cans, beer bottles, and ashtrays. Although the room had been cleaned the sheets and towels were grey with overuse and the whole place needed an overhaul. It was okay as a hostel but I expected something nicer given that it was quite expensive compared to other similar accommodation in the area.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Very pleasant and helpful staff, it was like a small boutique hotel. We were made to feel safe annd welcome, nothing was a problem. Free water and wifi very welcome as we are a family of 7 travelling.

Disliked: No complaints

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great very close to center. There are so many bars around there.Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Toilet was so dirty, I am so shocked how dirty is it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability