HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Eazy's Place 100%

1. Eazy's Place

Guesthouse
Salasala Road

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 93%

Location 93%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Eazy's Place

05 May 2014 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

We were picked up from the airport in the middle of the night by the host himself and were rather happy not to stay at one of the noisy city center budget hostels. The guesthouse was clean with basic facilities. The whole place has a very cosy friendly atmosphere. After two exciting days Eazy even guided us to Bagamoyo. We will definitely be back soon

would recommend this property

04 Dec 2013 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Eazy was a wonderful host, making me feel like at home and even teaching me some Swahili. He always had good ideas on where to go for a day trip and even gave me advice on travelling to Zanzibar. The food he cooked was so genuine and wonderfully tasty. The area where the place is located is quite rural, which I liked, although really close to buses so that it was quite easy to reach places. The people in the area were very friendly. I thoroughly loved my stay here.

would recommend this property

Read all Eazy's Place reviews
Mgulani Hostel operated by The Salvation Army 90%

2. Mgulani Hostel operated by The Salvation Army

Hostel
Kilwa Road, near JKT, Salvation Army Compound, Mgulani, Kurasini

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

2 out of 2 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mgulani Hostel operated by The Salvation Army

06 Jan 2017 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

it was not far from bus station and it was in a nice large enclosed area.

would recommend this property

02 Jun 2016 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Business / conference
Age Range: 41+

The area has lots of mosquitoes but the place is fumigated regularly. The staff was very friendly, especially Eric at the Reception, and he spoke good English. Mr. Tuesday battled with English but was still friendly. The quality of food was outstanding. The Chief Cook was also good. They offered me a place to study and I could study until very late in the early hours of the morning. Everybody is punctual!! Quiet and secure, no parties or late night noise. Please arrange a taxi beforehand with the hostel.

would recommend this property

Read all Mgulani Hostel operated by The Salvation Army reviews
Tanzanite Executive Suites 89%

3. Tanzanite Executive Suites

Hotel
P.o Box 64

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 89%

Location 83%

Safety 91%

Staff 97%

Value 86%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tanzanite Executive Suites

05 Aug 2014 69%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Business / conference

Staff friendly and helpful

would recommend this property

aca974544bde7da95b7ca9e939b4d124fa600e11c2bd2f8dc4 19 Jun 2013 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

They booked our ferry tickets for Sansibar, great room

aca974544bde7da95b7ca9e939b4d124fa600e11c2bd2f8dc4 would recommend this property

Read all Tanzanite Executive Suites reviews
Transit Motel Ukonga 80%

4. Transit Motel Ukonga

Guesthouse
Plot 7 Nyerere /segerea rds, Ukonga, SLB 18083 Dar Es Salaam

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 70%

Location 100%

Safety 90%

Staff 60%

Value 80%

2 out of 2 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Transit Motel Ukonga

01 Jan 2014 71%

Close to the airport, easy if you are in transit.

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2013 80%

Transit Motel Ukonga is a newer property and a nice place for a stay before you go to the airport. It's outside the city, so it's not a great place if you're going to the downtown city area. The motel has nice AC/fans, bedding is nice, Tanzanian style food is cheap and decent in the restaurant. Breakfast is free and includes toast, juice, tea, eggs, . They also arranged a taxi for us to the airport for $5/ 8000TSH.

would recommend this property

Read all Transit Motel Ukonga reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dar es Salaam?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Dar es Salaam hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Dar es Salaam. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Dar es Salaam

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Dar es Salaam. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!