Website feedback

Reviews of Taipei City Home Taipei Hostel

Ln. 172, Chang’an W. Road, Datong District, Taipei, Taiwan China

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 97%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taipei?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 97%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Chunky (staff) is awesome and really friendly! He seems to know Taipei inside out and will happily send you off with heaps of helpful info and recommendations! Hostel is clean and in a good location right by the main station.

Disliked: Liked everything would definitely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The staff is amazing, they help whenever you need help or just chat.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: This place I can highly recommend. The location is very good near to MTR and Bus station.Chunky is very helpful and give you all information you need. So this is so far one of the best hostels I have been in.

Disliked: Nothing everything was good.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great staff, very friendly and accommodating.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Chunky was extremely helpful in giving tips, made some brownies for everybody and let me stay in the hostel to wait for my night bus. Highly recommended!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As long as you travel with all the friends you want to make, and don't plan to drink in the hostel, this place has almost everything you could want. The location is really convenient, for Taipei or beyond (near the main station). And yet this place has a good home feel and is actually great for a traveling group of friends. The comfortable bedding and AC, the way the place feels removed from the hustle and bustle of the center of the city while still being immersed in it, and the cheap cab rides to party or night market areas, all make the place perfectly situated. It'll make you feel right at home, honestly. They provide a solid breakfast, and they don't charge annoying little fees for things like extra bedding or laundry. That stuff is all free, like it would be if you were staying at a friend's house.Chunky is really nice, and indeed, it's like you're staying at a friend's house when you're there. Which to me was kind of part of the problem.

Disliked: I think the place is falsely advertised on Hostel Bookers as a big party hostel where you can meet lots of people.No party atmosphere. Dull. Stuck in limbo between a hostel and actually following the rules of staying for free in someone's house. No worker is there when you wake up, or for a large portion of the day. It's like you're literally staying in a friend's house, and he went to work.I traveled alone to Taiwan, which I have never done before. Therefore I wanted to stay at a big busy hostel where I could quickly make friends. This hostel is not ideal for that.It was dull. I made one friend there. The other guy was asleep at the table. The hostel was quiet. Most bizarrely, alcohol was not allowed to be consumed in the common room. Chunky said it was "ok" to drink a little and keep it discreet, so I drank out of a brown paper bag like a homeless man. The only friend I had in the room wouldn't bother to drink, making me really seem like a homeless man. All the while a dull family comedy played on TV, slowly taking the life out of the room, until we didn't want to go out anymore and went to bed. I will never forget how boring it was, and how stupid it felt at a hostel in one of the biggest party cities in the world, drinking alone out of a brown paper bag.Chunky will only show up when someone is checking in or out. He was gone during the day. I didn't know much about Taipei and sorely missed an opportunity to ask questions about the city and country.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice hostel! Clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly, always giving me some travel advice or helping me out with directions. Really happy with my stay here and I would be happy to reccomend it to others.

Disliked: Nothing bad.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I enjoyed my stay. The bathrooms were clean and the beds comfy.

Disliked: All was good

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Chunky is a nice and helpful Taiwan guy, hostel is good and clean. it worths!

Disliked: Nope

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location near Main railway and bus station. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Better breakfat would be appreciated

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability