Website feedback

Reviews of City Backpacker - Hostel Biber Zurich Hostel

Niederdorfstrasse 5, Zurich, Switzerland

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 76%

Location 91%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note: Reception is open from 08:00 to 12:00 and from 15:00 to 22:00. The latest possible time for check-in is 10pm (22:00).

Payment is due in Euro, US dollars, Visa or MasterCard upon arrival. (we charge an extra fee of 1 CHF for credit card payment)

Please note that sheets are not included in our rates. Sheets can be rented for CHF3.00.
For bookings for dormitorys: You're allowed to bring your own sheets or sleeping bag.

We have no elevator and there are a lot of narrow stairs to take up to the hostel. So please try to keep your luggage not all to heavy.

Prices include taxes.

We have a 48hr cancellation policy.
Cancellations must be made by email.

If you arrive in the morning before 12 noon, you are welcome to leave your luggage with us until check-in. :)

Have a safe journey and see you soon in Zurich!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zurich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 76%

Location 91%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


23 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location

Disliked: no elevator

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The building looks a bit old but the bed, bathroom, and toilet are clean. Helpful staff.

Disliked: You have to walk some staircases and pass by kitchens of a restaurant before arriving at the reception. The staff are not always at the reception, you have to call them and wait for several minutes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: We accidentally booked for the WRONG month - OUR FAULT. We booked for JUNE 17th, when we were supposed to book for JULY 17th. I emailed the hostel as soon as I realized our mistake. Stefan from the hostel emailed us back within 2 hours with a re-booked confirmation email with the correct dates. We were very happy to get a return email so quickly and have our mistake taken care of so promptly, so for that we have given the hostel great reviews. -johann von new braunfels

Disliked: have not seen it yet!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Good location. Value for money, considering that Zurich is among the most expensive cities in the world.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


02 May 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: It was well located

Disliked: Not too much atmosphere. It could have used some events in the evening

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The rooftop terrace is awesome! They also have board games that you can play with people you meet.

Disliked: Not a a lot of space in the common area.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It's very central, close to the train station

Disliked: Very expensive, I had to pay for my bed sheets, dirty and the rooms was not so comfortable.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Roof top views. And kitchen on every floor.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: 3rd floor

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: very close to the main train station

Disliked: too many stairs

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability