Website feedback

Reviews of Clock Inn Colombo Colombo Hostel

457, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Showing 31-39 of 39 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a fairly new hostel so they are slowly offering more and more services. It's still one of the nicest I've stayed in, and I think will only get better. The staff are lovely and very helpful, and the room and bathrooms are super clean. There's a good size locker in the room (I can fit my 60l backpack, day backpack and handbag in there happily). There's no food on offer but I think they're working on that, and there are plenty of local eateries for traditional rice and curry nearby. All they need now is to organise some social activities in their lovely common area or out and about and it will be tip-top!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you every so much for your positive review! We are sincerely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, we are improving ourselves everyday and working hard on offering food and services. We are working on plenty of social activities and have loads of fun things lined up! We hope that you get to visit us again and experience it!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: New, clean and modern. Good free wifi. Location is good for shopping in Colombo be it for general goods or the tourist items.

Disliked: Bunk beds are made out of pine wood, and the ones in the dorm I was staying in are dangerously close to collapse. If you do stay in the bunk beds, check to make sure the wood on the main supports is not cracked.More importantly, check underneath to see how much of the plywood sheet (the board the mattress sits on) is supported. The two bunks beds in my room only had the corners supported, as the rest of the bunk was warped out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are aware of the issues that we have with our bunk beds and we are replacing every single bed in all of our Dorm Rooms. We promise that this will not be a problem again for you or all of our future guests! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed our stay overall, and hope to see you back again soon! Happy Travels!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First of all, Colombo accomodation is kind of expensive. Clock Inn is therefore a good option. The 4 bed dorms, especially. The booking service is great too, we arrived well after midnight due to delays, and did not have the possibility to contact clock inn to let them know this. Still, they held our booking made through this site, despite us having only paid 10% and the place being full.

Disliked: No blankets, no soap in the bathrooms etc. By Sri Lankan standards, this accomodation is expensive. You'd think a blanket or at least a bedsheet would be included, especially since the dorm rooms are equipped with AC.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us! we have taken your suggestions in consideration and now include Blankets for all of our beds in the hostel now at no additional charge. Soap dispensers have been placed in the bathroom sinks now. We value your feedback, and look at every opportunity to improve our services while remaining a reasonably priced Hostel in the heart of the City. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and hope to see you back again soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They might be the only real hostel in town. They just opened a few months ago so everything is brand new. Super clean and the fastest Internet (by far) I experienced in the country.The staff are super friendly and will help you out with anything you need.The location is pretty good. A lot of cool stuff close by. There's even an awesome bookshop close by that sells a good variety of english books.Anyways, it's a great place to chill, enjoy good Internet and an AC room. Sometimes you just need it hehe.

Disliked: It's a bit more expensive than everywhere else, but then again, they're one of a kind.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay at Clock Inn Colombo! We hope that you had a great time in Sri Lanka and hope to see you back again soon! Happy Travels!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the dorm room is basic, just a bed and a locker inside.they have Strong wifi signal, shared bathroom is also clean. Staffs are helpful.

Disliked: please do not reserve a van or taxi from this hotel, We had a bed experience. it took us 3500LKR from hotel to airport, I think it is more experience than outside. Price is acceptable, but the driver is not good. In the beginning, the driver would like to take us to a gem store, we deny , then because one of my friends stayed in Colombo one more day, after the driver knew that, he started to introduce his one day city tour. I can understand he want to earn money, but he did not respect us. He promoted his tour continuely. After one hour drive to the airport, he even asked for the tips, I could not believe my eye, he did not do any service(we took in and out the luggages by ourself!) but he want tips! what a bad driver!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are extremely sorry for the bad experience you had with our taxi driver. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and we will take appropriate measures with our taxi partner to ensure this doesn't happen again with you and our future guests. Your feedback regarding this matter is highly appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka and we hope to see again soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, our room was really nice and clean.

Disliked: Far away from the beach ;(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your positive response! Next time, we promise to organise a shuttle to the beach for all the beach lovers!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Over three nights at the Clock Inn, the facilities were never less than spotlessly clean and the staff never less than cheery. As the place is brand new (open only a couple of months), everything was in good working order from the newfangled (if somewhat dim) LED lights to the hot showers to the WiFi to the air conditioning units. After over 24 hours in the air coming from the U.S., what more could I have hoped for?Situated in Bambalapitiya/Kollupitiya, the main commercial district, the area seemed safe even at night (many people walking around, even single women). I did not stay over the weekend, so I cannot speak to what nightclub noise is like on Fridays and Saturdays, but the traffic noise from Galle Rd did not keep me up at night.Each guest is given a key to an in-room locker which is a little too small for a backpack but more than capacious enough for storing your valuables. The front door is controlled by an electronic lock after hours, which you activate with a card. Each bed in the dorm has its own light and electrical outlet (mine had British-style 3-prong outlets)

Disliked: Being such a brand-new property, there are doubtlessly areas for improvement. The common area is small and not very conducive to mingling with other travelers; it seemed dark whenever I passed through even though I knew all the rooms on my floor were occupied. There are no self-catering facilities, which may be the norm in Sri Lanka; however, a water filter would greatly enhance the traveler's experience, or even the sale of bottled water or some packaged snacks/short eats.For location, as I noted the area is safe and convenient to convenience shops and two different Cargills supermarkets. It is not in the Fort District, however, and so getting into Colombo 01 to see the sights there entails a 300 LKR or so tuk-tuk ride. This is quite reasonable, and metered tuk-tuks and taxis are easy to hail on Galle Rd. But the traveler who absolutely demands to wake up amidst old buildings and walk to the sights in ten minutes should consider booking elsewhere.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jason!
Thanks very much for your feedback. We always appreciate it! Our kitchen area and lounge is still under development and we intend to have an area for travellers such as yourselves to hang out and mingle. Our kitchen will be open to self catering facilities. Our sole intention, as travel lovers, is to make Clock Inn Colombo THE place for backpackers to hangout, make new friends and have a great time.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope to see you again soon!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean, safe, great location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Small showers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability