Website feedback

Reviews of Clock Inn Colombo Colombo Hostel

457, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Showing 21-30 of 39 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Especially the common area seems to be quite new and fresh. It was clean and everything was alight.

Disliked: The location. Its a bit far away from everything. But since Tuk Tuks are quite cheap it shouldn't be a big problem. Also don't be as stupid as I have been and expect a beach just because its close to the water :D

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Clean, professional, and well managed.

Disliked: They don't say anywhere the breakfast costs 600 Sri Lankan Rupees. Its only at the time of settlement that we came to know.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Modern, clean , really comfortable place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clock Inn was a cool, clean and good value place to stay in Colombo. Many of the sights are close by, and everything else is only a tuk-tuk ride away.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It was clean and modern. Wifi modems in every room which was great.

Disliked: The communal area was a little hidden and there wasn't much of an atmosphere like some backpacker hostels. Still it was a pleasant enough place.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Its very clean and modern. Helpful staff. Free internet. Close to a lot of places in Colombo.

Disliked: Internet is a bit slow. And its kind of pricey.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean and well maintained. Great location on a major road, with the beach a few minutes walk away. Common area great for chilling. Excellent rates.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The young guys who worked there were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: BEWARE OF THE TOUR THROUGH THIS HOSTEL. I booked a private driver for a 3 night/4 day tour through the hostel. As I was a single female traveler I was concerned with being on my own in a car with the driver. The hostel manager ensured me that it was safe and he took safety seriously. I found some other travellers to join me for the first part of the trip and was told they needed to pay more money (I'd already paid US$300) to come. They paid some extra reluctantly as it seemed the manager was only interested in pocketing more money out of it even though the itinerary didn't change. I also ended up paying for the driver's accomodation and food for the duration which I later found out that he should have paid his own way. I cut the trip short by a day as I got food poisioning so the driver took me out to my final destination early. By this point I was alone with the driver again. When we were almost at the destination, he asked if there was no room for him, could he share a room with me. Shocked by this as it is low season with plenty of rooms everywhere I told him no of course not. He then asked the same thing again when we were about to go speak to the guest house. At this point I was disgusted he was insisting on sharing a bed with me and was happy it was the end of the trip and that I spent minimal time alone with him.I spoke to the manager at Clock Inn when I came back through Colombo and he got the driver in to discuss it despite me not wanting to see the filthy man again. The driver called me a liar over and over. I was horribly offended and was only trying to bring it to the hostels attention as I was concerned for other single female travellers.Regarding the hostel itself, someone in a dorm had mentioned that they didn't change the sheets after someone moved out of the room, just straightened the sheets up and put a new blanket and pillow in the locker.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very new, very clean, comfy beds, 24 hour check inn was helpful.

Disliked: staff started cleaning the room really early in the morning. Blinds were up letting sunlight through early. I checked in at 1am so needed a sleep but was woken up pretty early. shared bathroom is for male & female.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am extremely sorry that you were woken up early by our HoseKeeping team. We will follow this up with our staff and ensure that this does not happen again to you or our future guests. We hope you enjoyed your stay overall and hope that you had a great time in Sri Lanka! Happy Travels!

Check Availability