Website feedback

Reviews of Mount Lavinia Home Stay Colombo Hostel

17/7 Off De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 05:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Showing 31-40 of 43 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Really good value for money - about 200m from the beach, nice clean but basic room, en suite shower. Technically no hot water as advertised but the water came out warm enough for a good shower. Very safe with padlock on front gate, front door and then room key. Host was very friendly. Would recommend. Plenty of good places to eat and drink nearby...head to the beach (la voile blanche is nice) or along hotel road towards the train station (the angler restaurant is amazing - very tasty authentic home cooked food)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good price, location. Clean rooms, use of kitchen facilities. Wifi works in room. Helpful and friendly owner.

Disliked: It was quite difficult to find - directions could possible be clearer.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing to much trouble ,safe and clean

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice lady who runs that homestay. Very helpful and made me feel like being at home. Very good value for money. Also nice that there is a kitchen and a garden.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Got confused with MOUNT LAVINIA - IT ISN'T MOUNT LAVINIA HOTEL OR MOUNT LAVINIA HOUSE!! Wasn't sure at first when we arrived but after staying there for a night we realised that it was excellent value for money and had all the facilities we required and stayed for 3 nights. We travelled all round Sri Lanka and decided to go back to Mount Lavinia Home Stay for another 3 days at the end of our holiday. Mainly because it had all that we wanted, ie was reasonably located if you didn't mind going into Colombo for 30 minutes or more each time on the bus (bus was very cheap at 20 Sri Lankan Rupees each) Also only 80 rupees each to come from the airport to central Colombo before Mount Lavinia.A BIG BONUS was having a fridge in our bedroom and having an available kitchen to make breakfast or tea and coffee all day etc. Also free Wi Fi and an available free computer. Pyriani the owner was very friendly and helpful. It was much cheaper than places we stayed in central and southern Sri Lanka.

Disliked: Half an hour plus bus ride from Colombo but as it was good value we didn't really mind.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Premises very clean, helpful owner very aware of backpackers requirements

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the beach, very calm and quiet, extremely cheap, nice hostess, turtle which roams the property!

Disliked: This is a guesthouse, not a hostel, so don't expect to be meeting too many people. For a couple, it's fine. Also there's no hot water (although with the Sri Lankan heat this isn't really a big deal). Mt Livinia is about 45 mins from Colombo city centre, although again this isn't a big del because we liked Mt Livinia better anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place excels as value for money in a city where there is little of that. The owner was very helpful. I loved being able to use the WiFi in my room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Far from city

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Close to the beach, but very quiet. Convenient to Colombo by train. Friendly and helpful owner the advantage of a home stay

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability