Website feedback

Reviews of Mount Lavinia Home Stay Colombo Hostel

17/7 Off De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 05:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Showing 21-30 of 43 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: the room was large with two ceiling fans, a clean working bathroom and use of the kitchen including an electric kettle ! Wifi excellent and worked in the room. good location not far from the sea and not far from Galle Road with frequent buses into townevery few mins and meter tuk tuks on Galle Road.

Disliked: gate is locked so do need to phone at night when you first arrive. A bell would be nice.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt very safe. It was clean & friendly.

Disliked: Nearby beach is not what we expected, didn't feel like we could sunbathe in swimwear.Nothing bad to say about the accommodation itself.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location in Mount Lavina

Disliked: Broken into whilst sleeping and bag was stolen

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The land lady was very nice and our room was large and bright. It was on walking distance from a supermarket, restaurant and the bus stop to Colombo city.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean well appointed (yet basic) rooms. Great location in Mount Lavinia, just a few steps to Galle Road which is a main road you can catch the bus from. Mount Lavinia is a really pleasant neighbourhood to stay in with shops nearby as well as the beach. Wifi worked well (and was free). Lady running the homestay was really pleasant.

Disliked: No A/C but for the price I paid I don't think it would be reasonable to expect it.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here. I had the "outside" room which was basic but clean and had a shower, and to my surprise my own fridge. It also opened straight onto the garden which was nice, and the house felt comfortable and relaxed. The woman running it is very lovely, helpful and accomodating - happily agreed to a late check out for very little extra. Its incredibly good value expecially given the price of most other places in colombo.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Located away from the busy streets in a quieter part of town and very close to the and beach. Room was clean and there was free wifi; I had signal in my room which was great. Good value for money and would certainly recommend. The owner is very helpful and considerate. My flight arrived really early and left late, on both ocassions she happily agreed early check-in and late check-out at no extra cost. I volunteered to pay extra simply for the priviledge.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It felt very safe and private. Ultimately, it is a great value for the money and you cannot expect much for the little bit that you are paying. There is a turtle named "otto" who will occasionally make an appearance

Disliked: Room was a bit cramped and the wifi did not work in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner is very friendly and she can give advices on many topics. The place is quiet and clean. There is a kitchen if you want to cook, which is very nice. You can get goods at the nearby grocery store.

Disliked: It is not in Colombo per se, it is in Mount Lavinia, which is at least 30 minutes by tuk tuk from Colombo's railway and bus stations. Buses to Mount Lavinia are very cheap, though, so just don't be in a hurry to arrive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability