Website feedback

Reviews of Mount Lavinia Home Stay Colombo Hostel

17/7 Off De Saram Road, Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 05:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 91%

Showing 11-20 of 43 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: In a hectic city like Colombo, this really is a good way of spending one or two nights. Small home stay, close to the beach and with helpful staff. As soon as we booked on Hostelbookers we had an welcoming e-mail, which was very much appreciated. We can recommend this place.

Disliked: There isn't really anything, but remember that you get what you're paying for :) You can't stay here if you're picky.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Guesthouse is in a quiet street really close to the beach and away from the busy galle road. Piriyani was a very nice lady and very helpful and allowed us our privacy throughout our stay. We had an air conditioned room which was a massive bonus as the rest of the house was very hot. There is no hot water but it is definately not needed. a cool shower was perfect considering the climate! and the water is cool as opposed to cold. We enjoyed home stay and will hopefully be back there again before our time in Sri Lanka is over.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was an excellent place to stay whilst in the Colombo area. It was quiet, peaceful and with all the necessary facilities, including fast Wifi. The owner is very helpful and knowledgable. We can highly recommend the hostel to travelers not wanting the party hostel atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The friendly staff, the good price and location!

Disliked: Hard to find.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the room

Disliked: only cold water for the shouwer

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This guesthouse is simple, clean, quiet and good value for money and provides everything the budget traveller could wish for from the electric kettle in the kitchen to the fridge in each room and the owner was extremely kind and let me have access to my room at 6.30am after a long journey from the UK.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike apart from having to leave

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice garden ( all traveller sitting together), nice room and quiet

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very friendly staff, we arrived early morning and could stay/sleep in the lounge until our room was ready. Free Internet and well equiped kitchen for use. Bakery, restaurant, busstop and supermarket near by. Quiet area.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was very nice and friendly she helped us to arrange a driver at short notice

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a really good stay in the twin room with fan (non-a/c). The room was simple but had everything we wanted. The mini-fridge in the room is great to keep drinks cold. The fan keeps you just cool enough in the Colombo heat. We arrived at 9:30am after a night train and the room was already ready for us which was a real bonus. The landlady is really nice, she lets you do your own thing but is available nearly all day if you need her. She booked us a budget a/c metered taxi for 4am for our early flight out which was good (2,300 rupees). Although it's a "cold" shower it comes out a coolish temperature which is perfect & refreshing for the Colombo heat. The guest house is about 1.5km walk or 150 rupee tuktuk from Mt Lavinia train station. As others have mentioned, it's really close to Galle Rd and supermarket, Lion pub, cheap local eateries and plenty of taxis, buses & tuktuks. Beach is a 5min walk which I found to be fine, decent sand and warm water. Once checked-in you get a key for the house, a key for your room & a key for the gate which stays locked so we found it very safe & secure.

Disliked: There are not many rooms so not many people around for socialising or partying but everyone was nice.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability