Website feedback

Reviews of Hitchhike Backpackers Colombo Hostel

50/3A Templers Road, (Colonne Place), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colombo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. The hostel mum really was like a mum, helping a sick boy and helping me when I got a blister. The guy took me to get dinner and told me about the country. The location is near the beach.

Disliked: Far from the airport but in a really nice area. Wifi doesn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place in a quiet location, but very close to the railway station and the busy main road into Colombo and further South, so you can easily flag down a bus when you decide to continue your journey. The staff is absolutely amazing, very friendly, warm and welcoming, and always up for a chat and a laugh. If you need some motherly warmth, this is the place to go. The rooms are very clean, and the beds comfortable and cozy. Chances are you want to stay longer than intended.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great family run hostel where the owner gives every traveller personal treatment. The hostel is a walkable distance to and from some nice beach bars. I was able to travel round Sri Lanka thanks to the organisational skills of the owner- white water rafting, Safari rides and tea plantation trips. Will definately visit again!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean friendly quiet hostel ample space close to railway station mount lavinia and on bus route

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great hostel! Clean and spacious with brand new facilities and very comfy beds. Worth the trip south of Colombo as it is only about 10 mins walk from the beach. Staff were extra welcoming and gave excellent travel advice around Sri Lanka. Would recommend anyone to stay here!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: Thank you HH! 5* hospitality - went above and beyond for us. Hostel is very clean, beds are SUPER comfy. The building is a beautiful, huge new building & the bathrooms are huge. I cant compliment this hostel and the owners enough. They have invested into this hostel and it shows. Dilan stayed up till late telling us all about Sri Lanka and where to visit - thank you! Its only £3 tuktuk or £1 bus from Colombo city and I would recommend staying here then getting transport to the city if you have things to do (indian visas etc) as none of the city hostels compare to this place. 10 mins walk from the beach also. If you're visiting Colombo, STAY HERE!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place itself is new and clean. The facilities are decent too. Would look lively with other travellers.

Disliked: The owner gives you a LOT of instructions for almost anything! They even charge a key deposit of LKR300 which was a first for me. They even try to sell you anything. I ended up buying a electric socket because he told me that pin is the standard in SL. I didn't have to use that socket anywhere else in SL!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff. Very secure also with a locked gate

Disliked: Was a little bit quiet with being new there were not so many guests here yet. Few mosquitos at night

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: 1. Location - great for navigation to South of island with excellent transport facilities2. Atmosphere - good communal areas, could do with a bar, but we all brang our own alcohol in so no issues and saved money!!3. Rooms - new, comfortable, no problems.4. Staff - attentive, helped plan my Sri lanka trip. Professional.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability