Website feedback

Reviews of Albergue O Fogar de Teodomiro Santiago de Compostela Hostel

Praci'a de Algalia de Arriba, 3, Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 72%

Location 93%

Safety 78%

Staff 90%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago de Compostela?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 72%

Location 93%

Safety 78%

Staff 90%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very centrally located, kind staff

Disliked: Rather loud in the night

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great value for money. Nice location so close to cathedral.

Disliked: The heating was on only in the evening and at night. Not able to switch it on during a daytime.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very central. Staffs are friendly.

Disliked: Things are too disorganised - no one knew which bed belongs to who, only one of the staffs knew how to organise bookings for breakfast, ... etc.Wifi signal was too weak that it wasn't even usable as the modem was located at the basement without any signal repeaters in upper floors.No secure lockers to store your valuables, so I had to carry quite a stuff with me.Only two bathrooms in the whole building with 6 or so dorms.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, easy to find. Has a nice little plaza right out in front. The guy at the front desk is very friendly. I was only there for about 24 hours but it was perfectly adequate and I don't regret staying there.

Disliked: We had this weird pilgrim man in our room who would talk to himself the whole time and he smelled of something foul. Front desk guy told us that so many pilgrims accidentally take the keys to the lockers in the room so they're never sure which lockers have keys but we found keys that worked fortunately. It felt very secure though.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, free maps, easy check-in/out, good size lockers, great/central location in the old town of the city, interesting environment because a lot of the other travelers are pilgrims, building felt secure: key in with a code that changes daily, walking distance to bus and train stations.

Disliked: Wi-fi only works on the ground floor and in the basement, only two bathrooms for the entire building, unisex bathrooms, linens are included but it's only a thin blanket (though I think you might be able to ask for more?). They have you check in at the hotel next-door during the hostel's off-season, which was clearly explained by a sign on the door of the hostel, but it might've been nice to have someone available at the front desk of the hostel without having to leave the building, etc.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very warm, i was worried about the temperature but luckily there is heat. the location is perfect, right in the center and you can walk to the catedral within minutes. the staff is very friendly and answered all my questions. they even opened the door for me in the basement when i couldnt find the entrance.

Disliked: the bathrooms were small and a lot of pilgrims stay there, therefore you dont really meet people. no free breakfast, you have to go to the bar across the hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Laundry services!

Disliked: Sadly, the option for food on site was closed (really good prices were advertised).

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, free wifi, security lockers (need a padlock for the ones downstairs).

Disliked: Not always someone at reception - had to check in at the bar next door when I arrived late, although this was communicated effectively with signs on arrival. But despite this it made for an uninformed check in as they didn't tell me anything about the hostel, and I only discovered what the facilities were later on. I also still had to pay and fill in some forms on a later day. The rooms weren't always clean and you didn't get given bed sheets - only a pillow and a thin wool throw. I also caught a cold whilst I was there, which could have been down to that. The design of the whole hostel and bathrooms is a bit messy as if it was someone's second home for storage; the bathroom facilities were a bit dirty, unpleasant, small and boxy, as if someone had done a botch job installing them. Whilst it is located within the old quarter and I imagine there are planning restrictions limiting them for doing certain things within the building, I still think more could be done.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Person in the reception was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability