Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Barcelona Gothic Barcelona Hostel

C/ Vigatans, 5, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

PLEASE NOTE: From the 1st of July 2016 breakfast has a cost of 2€.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

Showing 41-50 of 92 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: breakfast, location

Disliked: wifi, loudness

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location... not much else.

Disliked: After I paid for my two nights I was then informed that the wi-fi doesn't work. I heard later that this was not a new problem, but it hadn't worked for the last 2 weeks! They have taken some business advice from Ryan Air as you have to pay 2 euros extra (per day?) for a sheet to cover yourself. And its quite cool at night in Nov. Mattresses are cheap. Dorm has a grungy smell and dungeon feel to it. Staff is indifferent and can't wait to finish their shift - I don't blame them.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absolutely excellent location, good breakfast included in the price; they offer you the possibility to work for your stay there if you want to. Very clean; the staff was very nice and helpful and ready to explain everything you need about the hostel and Barcelona. Security seemed rather good as they always check upon entering that you have the right to stay there. The rooms were unconventional but nice with their tree-top structure and everyone had enough privacy and personal space even in a room of 14 people

Disliked: During our 2nd day there the weather turned very cold, and the hostel as well: it was literally as cold inside as outside, and in our room everyone had goosebumps continuously as no heating was working. They promised free wifi but during our entire stay there the wifi was not working and we could instead use their paid internet with the rate or 1 EUR for 30 minutes. Some of the floors were extremely creaky and made a lot of noise when someone came in late

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: OMG the bed is like a tree house~!!!!! soooooo... cool~love it~!!!!!! certainly will choose it again when we go to Barcelona next time~!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Fun atmosphere. Breakfast.

Disliked: The push button showers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very good concept with the bunk beds, friendly staff and good general impression. Much better than other hostels in Barcelona!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location next to the metro station, easy walking distance to Plaça Reial where there's good bars, restaurants and clubs and also a short walk from Plaça Nova where the Catherdral is located.The hostel is clean and tidy with a 24 hour reception desk by the main door. Rooms were basic and cleaners worked through the hostel each day - often aided by travellers wanting a free night.The hostel subscribe to TourMeOut, a company that provides organised activities among 7 hostels. The free tour was very good and well worth it, as was the bar crawl - very much recommend joining in on these activities.You get what you pay for - there's no luxury but for the price it's worth a try.

Disliked: The place was quiet, even though it seemed to be fully booked. There is a small social area but no one makes an effort to speak to each other. There is only a small sofa with space for 4 people to sit.The rooms are like something from an old school bunkhouse. There was no air con, which for rooms housing 14-18 people is a must! With little daylight, it was hard to tell whether it was day or night in the room.There were lockers but when I was showering on the last day, my wallet was stolen from my clothes pocket as it hung on the shower door. The staff were helpful - advised me to cancel cards and helped me look but I was nonetheless annoyed.Overall - could have been much more sociable. It's only because of the activities that included other hostels that we met people. You get what you pay for, clean and relatively secure bed for the night.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: local.

Disliked: I made the reservation for two people (we were two guys) and they booked two closer beds so basically we had to sleep together...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the random style high bunks, like sleeping in inside tree houses!

Disliked: No air ventilation in the common area, gets really hot when everyone is cooking or drinking together!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, interesting but really good set up with the beds being in their own mini rooms. Really lovely helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen left a lot to be desired. A proper oven or at least gas hot plates would help.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability