Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Barcelona Gothic Barcelona Hostel

C/ Vigatans, 5, Barcelona, Spain

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights.

PLEASE NOTE: From the 1st of July 2016 breakfast has a cost of 2€.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

Showing 31-40 of 92 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating


26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Keycard for dorm rooms added to security. Good location, good staff, nice place. Location right next to the subway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Dorm Beds are spacious and very private with your own curtains, locker and light. Also a great location!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice hostel! Don't forget this is an hoStel: so, of course you're in a room of 14 people, but this is not a problem for me! The beds provide a lot of comfort, and everything is clean. Hot showers 24/24, no curefew and a lot of interesting people to meet!

Disliked: Almost nothing. Maybe just that the breakfast ends at 10', quite early on vacation.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is perfect. The gothic area has lots on offer and the beach is also within walking distance.

Disliked: There was absolutely no vibe here. Downstairs in the common area there is no airconditioning so its like an oven. The kitchen is really tiny and also doesnt have a stove or an oven. This hostel has the opportunity to be really great but they need to host some events to get guests involved.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect. Walking distance to so many places and located right off of the metro made it a very easy traveling hub. The staff was friendly and the a/c actually worked (sometimes) in the room!

Disliked: I was told while booking my stay that if I prepaid, I'd be able to get a refund if I had to decided to change the duration of my stay. Upon asking to change my reservation so I could change hostels, they refused any refund. I would've been find with being charged maybe one or two days, but no refund was offered whatsoever with little to no effort to even attempt it.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good locaction and respectfull people

Disliked: I hadn't way to tale caer of my suite case.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was amazing! My group did the Tapas and Flamenco tour they provided and we had so much fun. Also the air conditioning in the rooms was helpful. The breakfast was amazing!

Disliked: It was unbearable hot downstairs, but that is what happens when you stay in Barcelona in the heat of July. :)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I promised them a good review if they let me keep my bag in the room for an hour after check out. They did, so here it is.

Disliked: More of a party place than I remember it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing location at the edge of Old City and next to the Cathedral. Plenty of things to do in the area.Youth hostel atmosphere. Fun and rowdy and loud. Always busy.Beds were bunks with curtains. Very cute and romantic.Allowed us to store our luggage in lockers after check-out.Provided breakfast.Had free guided tours available.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location, but that's about it really.

Disliked: Horrible dorms, no light at all it was very dingy. The staff were rude on more than one occasion.

Check Availability