Website feedback

Reviews of Whitetail Backpacker & Hostel Seoul Hostel

390-69 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 99%

Location 85%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Things to Note:
1. All room fee balance to be paid upon arrival in cash only. We only accept Korean Won.
2. Strictly no smoking anywhere in the entire property.
3. Passport or Valid ID with photo for check-in. Last check in time at 23:00.
4. An extra 20000 Won late check-in fee applied when guest check in after 12 am midnight.
5. An extra late check-out fee applied (per person) when guest leave the room after 11am check-out time.
6. We reserve the right to cancel reservations made by invalid or expired credit cards.
7. We do no accept Korean guest or reservations made by Korean credit cards. We will cancel your reservation without any further notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seoul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 99%

Location 85%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The hostel was so homey! I really loved how everything was set up and the free laundry!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super nice staff, nice neighbourhood, nice living room, nice bed and really comfortable atmosphere. The place is kept very clean and I can only mention again how nice the staff is!!! Had a good stay and would definitely choose to come again!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike~

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Jun the owner was so nice and helpful! We liked staying there, it's like a small community rather than a big hostel where people don't say hi to each other.

Disliked: The 8 bed dorm is really cramped it should be a 6 instead, there was never anywhere to put backpacks and that is the point of a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel from the floors to the toilet bowl was very clean and tidy upon my arrial. You sense the welcoming sense and unique Whitetail character from before you climb the stairs up to the front door. The 2 big teddies were too cute and my feet appreciated the rocking chair in the lounge. The breakfast is a blessing as it saves you from preparing for your own or getting up extra early to hit the streets to find your own breakfast. The bunk beds aren't those prison-like steel ones. They have name tags on the bedroom doors welcoming you and even write your name in Hangul, then paste this up as memoralia on a wall; this gesture shows that Whitetail values their guests. I'm coming back to Whitetail if I'm staying over in the area again. I'm recommending Whitetail to friends and family.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in late November and thought it was a wonderful hostel with very welcoming and helpful staff. Has a bit of a homestay feel to it as the hostel is essentially in their home, which was great. Overall quite clean, particularly the bathroom, good breakfast, free tea & coffee, and very quiet (although maybe this will be less so in peak season). Good value too. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: My dust allergies started acting up, which suggests they could do a better job of cleaning the the fall/winter linens. Also, it's about a 10 to 15 minute walk (at most) from the nearest metro station, which I thought was fine, but if you're looking for somewhere right next to a subway stop, this isn't it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: Whitetail is a new pretty amazing place to stay at. It's a family-like atmosphere that welcomes everyone. Good beds, good people, super hosts, nice area and a lovely feeling from everyone here. For our three nights here it was the best place to relax after busy days in the city.

Disliked: Air-conditioning in the room. But that's what I dislike everywhere. ;) The good thing about it: It's operated at a fixed schedule by Jin and Jun so that there is no argument between guests. :)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good WiFi, clean rooms

Disliked: Not so good for single travelers who want to meet people ...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner was incredibly friendly and attentive. Hostel was very clean and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: this is a great place to stay,the owners are very nice and helpful,the beds are cleaned everyday,very good vibe in the common room,breakfast isn't just toast ,it changes every morning,lockers for your valuables,air con in the room.food coffee and shopping very close by and subway station only 10 mins walk(seoul subway and airport line also,very convenient)highly recommended!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed here for four nights in early April. Jin and Jun are very sweet hosts and very friendly, I didn't require any particular assistance during my stay but I know if I'd have needed it they would have been there to help! The hostel is super homely(well it IS their home) and when I was there was occupied solely by myself and other solo travellers which was great, we became like a small family! It's very clean, they scrub the bathroom every day, and make your bed which is a great touch. The breakfast which is included in the price is another welcome addition and there's always enough to go around, something different every day; and more than just toast! I would gladly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great value for money hostel in seoul, especially solo travellers.

Disliked: Very very very little but the bedroom was a bit too light for me due to the light coloured curtains which allowed quite a lot of light in in the mornings. The location was perfect for me, close enough to Hongdae university area to party at night but far enough away to escape it all when I wanted to. However if you were looking to party the whole time it may be a bit far out for you, it's situated in a residential area but still only a 10 minute walk from the subway station.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability