Website feedback

Reviews of Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse Seoul Hostel

570-16, Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, Seoul, South Korea

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Seoul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It wasn't a far walk from the Hongik University station and was only $12 a night. I was even upgraded to a private room by circumstance, even when I booked a 8 person dorm room.

Disliked: I didn't like how it was difficult to hang out/get to know anyone in the hostel. It was a very get in- sleep, shower, - get out kind of atmosphere. But I think its really to do with the actual set up of the place. You walk in to an immediate staircase, and the office/hang out area is in the basement down a flight of stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Thank you very much!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the atmosphere & staff were very good,

Disliked: the directions to the property were out of date. the landmarks mentioned (ie gas station & family mart) were no longer there.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good wifi connection and nice and quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: I found it dirty. The bathroom was full of mould and had no place to put the towel. So I had to hang it up next to the door where it touched the mouldy wall, the other option was to put it on the floor or on the toilet. It was smelly and overall disgusting. The sheets had stains and I doubt the wash the lose blanket the give you. It was quite expensive for being so average, although I think on the other floor the bathroom was better. I don't recommend it at all.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice staff. Comfy beds. Quiet and free wifi

Disliked: It's on a back street and is hard to find. There was no elevator and the shower was a part of the sink.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Affordable to stay at and very well located in Hongdae. Lots of cool stuff in the area. Clean facilities.

Disliked: Could have been partially as a result of the season and current guests but I thought it really lacked in atmosphere. Common area was not really frequented by the guests and the way the rooms are split into multiple floors with closed off main entrances for each room section made it hard to meet other people in the hostel. No breakfast but i suppose you get what you pay for.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, it was in a good location, close to marts, and very very reasonably priced.

Disliked: My only problem with this hostel was that there was no lock on the dorm room door. I know that Korea is a very safe country, but I would have felt a lot more secure had my belongings been behind a locked door. There were lockers in the rooms which I used for my smaller valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff.

Disliked: Walking distance from Hongdae area.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The directions to get to the place should be updated. Although, it is not very hard to find the place.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, price

Disliked: it's fairly noisy, the place felt a bit depressing

Check Availability