Website feedback

Reviews of HomeBase Melville Johannesburg Hostel

37 - 1st Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg, South Africa

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 76%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Johannesburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 76%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location; new management making many improvements

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - helpful, mostly friendly staff (24hrs available)- good facilities (kitchen etc.)- free wifi + pc for use

Disliked: - deserted at times- didn't acknoledge hostelbookers reservation

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The Atmosphere, Safety and Cleanliness...

Disliked: Nothing really everything is likeable

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: -

Disliked: We booked our stay through hostelbookers. When we showed up and asked for our room, they said they had none free and they had no record of our confirmation. We showed them the confirmation email and they said that maybe it was hostelbookers mistake that hadn't sent them an email. It was late at night and we needed a room, so they gave us one which was more expensive that the one we had booked (they said it was not their problem that hostelbookers made a mistake) and we lost the deposit that we had already paid.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sehr freundliches Personal.

Disliked: Obwohl wir mit private bathroom gebucht hatten, sollte es nicht im hostelbooker-preis inbegriffen sein und wir mussten mehr bezahlen....

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The wooden balcony and the tranquil couch at the swimming pool...

Disliked: The mattresses is very soft and you quickly lay inside a valley on the hard bed frame.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice place.

Disliked: No fans in the cabins. It's hot!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property manager/bookkeeper/cleaner/all everything George worked hard and tried his best to ensure our stay was as we wished. The location in Melville was great. Secure parking!

Disliked: Dirty carpet in room, bunk bed was worn and sunk in the middle.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is okay - supermarkets and shops around. Staff was okay but felt they could've been more helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean place in a safe neighborhood with a nice (but small) pool

Disliked: Book your tours on your own...the staff just tries to set you up with their buddies for an undoubted kickback. The place is fine but make your travel arrangements yourself.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability