Website feedback

Reviews of Accoustix Backpackers Hostel Johannesburg Hostel

477A Jan Smuts Avenue, Hyde Park /Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 68%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Johannesburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 68%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: It is clean

Disliked: 1)this property is far of anything . You have to walk half an hour to find food (and it climbs) you must take a taxi to go to the center and sometimes they ask 400 R 2) You cannot have a key each ". It is a bedroom for 6 You have only one key" did he shout ( he is very nervous) 3) the light for the bed room is outside so you have to find your way in the dark to find the door and your bed ! It is difficult to get a help for the gerant. He refused first to call a taxi for me.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Accueil très chaleureux et agréable.

Disliked: Je n'ai pas vraiment apprécié que l'on me change de chambre sans que j'en sois d'accord. Dommage !

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: I loved the backyard. It was great to sit and eat breakfast while watching the birds. Also, the other guests were very friendly and we got into many interesting conversations in the kitchen! It definitely made the experience.

Disliked: The hall light was shining into our room which disturbed my sleep a bit, but not much.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The first staff I encountered was nice and friendly, as was the cleaning staff.The hostel offers a good opportunity to mix with locals, I was the only white person there. I really enjoyed talking to different personas - a local church group, a group of plumbers doing work in the area etc.The pool looked very nice and refreshing - if I hadnt been in the local autumn/winter I really wouldve enjoyed a swim.

Disliked: Other Staff was quite rude, they mixed up my booking initially. Breakfast was a Joke, instant coffee, toast and absolutely disgusting marmelade - which was full of black dirty spots inside a huge jar of tupperware. On the second day it was a fight to even get this. Their wifi consists of one 100mb voucher per stay, connection is terrible and slow. After that, you need to pay and the prices are quite steep.The hostel is far away from anything, and offers no facilities. No bar or restaurant etc. If you want to look at Johannesburg, pay extra to stay central - you'll more than safe the money on share taxi's or taxi's, so its even cheaper in the end.The kitchen was ok, but no more. The locals trashed it quite frequently and cleaning staff (despite their best efforts) weren't able to keep up. I didnt see any effort in keeping up with the state of the male toilets and showers. One of the toilets was standing completely in water, the showers didnt seem to be cleaned at all in the 2 days I was there. The fact that other customers are working men means you will be woken up at 6am sharp every day, as there is next to no sound isolation either.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located near the Randburg Taxi Rank and Randburg Mall, directly on Jan Smuts Avenue. Very friendly, large lounge to spend spare time, breakfast is included, Very helpful and friendly staff, super value that cannot be beaten. It is my home away from home.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Family Rooms very poor

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: PRIVACY & CLEAN

Disliked: COLD WATER IN SHOWERS

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: it makes me feel like am home, they are so friendly, getting your needs at ease, really value for money.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff, clean place! Kitchen was decent. Showers were hot and powerful, beds were simple but functional! Location is decent, though in Joburg, we kind of ended up taking taxis everywhere to avoid the minibuses and bus stations (shady). But Accoustix helped arrange rides all over the city, from Soweto to Montecasino, etc. Very affordable place and a decent stay!

Disliked: Walls are rather thin, we could hear every word of conversations in the next rooms over, at all hours of the night. Could also hear everything happening outside and at reception. Breakfast was just tea, toast and jam, so we supplemented with some stuff from the local grocery. Breakfast wasn't always out on time, either.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability