Website feedback

Reviews of Otters Bend Lodge Franschhoek Hostel

Dassenberg Rd, P.O. Box 273, Franschhoek, South Africa

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Franschhoek?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A quaint little place just outside of Franschhoek. beautiful views of the mountailns and nearby vinyards.

Disliked: The Wi-fi was not working during my stay which was a bit inconvenient. Located about 1km outside of town, the walk back after dinner was very dark. Although I felt safe, it was a bit uncomfortable to walk back alone at night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Probably the cheapest place in Franschloek. Communal area is very characteristic.

Disliked: Bathroom is a bit tiny but manageable.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The only affordable accommodation in Franschhoek ! Not luxurious but rustic and quiet. .....

Disliked: The walk to the cabins from the parking lot through the orchard was not well lit at night - also some pavement would make it easier to transport suitcases...........

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful setting amid pear orchards just by the stream. So peaceful and lovely facilities that I wish we had more time to use.

Disliked: A little way from franschhoek but worth it for the setting.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the tranquility of Otters Bend & yet it was within easy drive of the town of Franschhoek with all it's shops, bars, restaurants & vineyards. I was only able to fit one night here on my trip wish it could have been more

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its is peacefull and quiet.

Disliked: Very small bathroom. Squeeking bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a lovely stay in the garden cabins. We had everything we needed for a simple relaxed weekend away from the city. The bed was very comfy, and we loved that it was so quiet with birds chirping in the trees around the property and the river trickling past the cabins. If you are a nature lover, then you will enjoy it here. There was also plenty of outside seating areas with a decent braai spot and even a little pool! Loved the small vineyard you walk through to get to the cabins and common room. Our host, Richard was also very welcoming and had some useful tips for things to do such as hiking trails and places to go get good food and watch the rugby. Would definitely visit again! Great value for money.

Disliked: Only complaint would have been that our toilet didnt flush normally and we had to lift the cistern lid every time, which then flushed it. Minor problem.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really friendly and helpful owners, who are more than happy to accommodate you with airport transfers and lifts back from town (Mark even popped into town to find me when there was a rain storm so that I wouldn't get too wet walking back).

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great welcome from owner who was extremely helpful, had a great camping feel to the whole place, felt very close to nature and away from it all while only being a 2 minute drive from the town. Great communal area, quite basic sleeping area.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely surrounds, great room and loved the sound of the river! Very friendly owner and really helpful.

Disliked: 10 min walk to the centre of town, but perfectly safe to do it at night

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability