Website feedback

Reviews of Gap Year Hostel Singapore Hostel

322 Lavender Street, Singapore, Singapore

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 76%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 03:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 76%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

Showing 21-30 of 37 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: As I walked in, two lads greeted me from the lounge. "They are your room-mates" I was told by the receptionist. What a friendly start! Add to that, the guy who came out and helped me with my luggage - because I'd let them know in advance that I'd injured my arm skateboarding. Liked the free internet, the helpfulness of the staff, the lockable locker, individual reading lights and the efficient air conditioning. The hostel is owned and run by a lovely young couple - it is a new enterprise - and they deserve our support.

Disliked: This is my "room for improvement" box....not to be taken as negative criticism. The provision of an iron+ironing board would be good. Also, self-catering (kitchen) is not available (though cooked food locally is relatively cheap) and there are no fridges for guests to store food. It is not possible to dry yourself after a shower as the bathrooms are very steamy and not air conditioned. I wrapped in a towel to return to my room to dress...and felt people might not approve.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for your suggestions. we have just gotten an iron and ironing board :)
we do not have a kitchen as food is abundance and cheap around us .

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Stayed here during the F1 Weekend, Its a great hostel, near the MRT Station, after a few back and forth from the MRT to the hostel, i feel like its like home already hahaha.. Its a great location, there are many routes you can take from and to the airport. quite vicinity. Its definitely a good value for money! I wasn't able to check if there is wifi because i have enrolled in the Bridge Alliance UnliData Roaming on my network, but the Mac at the lobby works great. Thanks Gap Year!

Disliked: Nothing much. As expected.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: denis and his wife are great people, i wish you well with this hostel, this is a great place to stay, near to little india area of singapore, i would stay here again, thank you for your hospitality and advice for onward travel to indonesia

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing extraordinary. Pretty ordinary

Disliked: Cold shower. For some reason the heater was not working while i stayed in the hostel. Asked the staff? Who said that would take of it but apparentely did not

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its cleen, big beds in the dorms, hot water showers and close to the MRT.

Disliked: It was super cold in the dorm that i stayed in. I mean super cold, fans rotating on the highest speed and the AC on freezing temp, and really it wasn't even hot in sing nighttime so i couldn't sleep that night. Told the guy in the reception, he said that its because its so hot in Singapore, didn't feel like continuing the discussion. Then i told the girl that i wanted to cancel one night, she said sure but i had to tell her before 9pm, and so i did. When i was checking out the next day the guy tells me that i can only get half back, i tell him that the girl already said yes and im going to KL, he says sorry but no refund. Very frustrating.


The property's response is

hi, thanks for your feedback.

For your information, the AC remote is in the dorm which you can adjust if you find it too cold.
With regard to the refund, it is our policy that we do not refund if you cancel less than 72 hours and we did refund you 50% of what you paid for the second night.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: near Subway

Disliked: good location

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet, even in the 4 room dorm. Really pleasant staff! Gave lots of great advice and recommendations! Provide a lot of things for free or cheap during your stay like converters/towels etc.

Disliked: Mattress was a bit uncomfortable and 4 bed dorm had little walking space, so had to be extra cautious not to disturb others.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, but especially the owners are really great people!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I'ts overall great. You can't find anything close to that even for twice the price. Not overcorwded, clean, secure, good location. VERY HELPFUL staff. Special regards to Dennis =)

Disliked: Nothing! Strictly worth it's cost.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: LOVELY owners and the living room with really nice atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability