Website feedback

Reviews of Broadford Youth Hostel Isle of Skye Hostel

Broadford, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 80%

Safety 82%

Staff 84%

Value 69%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Hostelling Scotland is a charity aiming to inspire all, especially young people, to broaden their horizons, gain knowledge and independence through new experiences of adventure and discovery. In support of this aim, all bookings will include a temporary membership fee per person per night which is displayed as an inclusive rate. (Full, existing members of Hostelling Scotland and HI using this booking engine are not entitled to a membership refund).

Broadford Youth Hostel reception is open 07.30-22.30, with check-in from 17.00 and checkout by 10.00. Access between 10.00-17.00 is limited to some public areas. The hostel closes at midnight.

From the age of 5 to 15 years, young people must be accompanied by a parent or guardian and may be accommodated in a single-gendered shared room with the parent or guardian and other guests, at the discretion and responsibility of the parent or guardian. The young person/people, the parent/guardian and the other occupants of the room must be of the same gender.

Hostelling Scotland advise that additional notice be given to the destination youth hostel when travelling with children, to ensure that suitable accommodation is available. Contact details can be found on your booking confirmation.

Parties with young children (under 5 years) will only be accommodated in designated family rooms, where available. There is no capacity for extra beds or cots in a shared dormitory or private accommodation.

When booking for more than 9 people:
• Full prepayment is required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• The following cancellation charges will apply to the entire booking:
57 days or more - 20% of total cost
56 to 29 days - 55% of total cost
28 to day of arrival - 100% of total cost

No stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.

Hostelling Scotland does not accept American Express cards as payment or guarantee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Isle of Skye?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 80%

Safety 82%

Staff 84%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building and facilities were nice, all clean and set.

Disliked: Staff inefficient in cummunicating.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice location with large kitchen and dining space

Disliked: Bedrooms are quite small. It is really challenging to find breathing space when 4 big guys are unpacking and trying to get their clothes dry

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: LOCATION WAS UP TO STANDARD.

Disliked: WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE HOSTEL IN BROADFORD ON THE AFTERNOON ON 24TH APRIL 2015, I WAS BOOKED INTO THE PREMISES BY IN MY OPINION BY A VERY LIMITED EXPERIENCED RECEPTIONIST.. THIS GIRL SEEMED TO BE OUT OF HER DEPTH AND RATHER NERVOUS WHILE I WAS MAKING PAYMENT FOR MY 2 NIGHTS STAY. I IMMEDIATELY PAID THE BILL BY GIVING HER 2 TWENTY POUND NOTES AND IN RETURN SHE GAVE ME THE CHANGE DUE IN RETURN. AFTER THIS BOOKING PROCESS WAS COMPLETED,INFORMED RECEPTION THAT I WOULD WOULD BE SEEKING OUT THE LOCATION OF GLEN BRITTEL WITH THE MAIN AIM OF RETURNING ON SATURDAY TO TAKE PHOTOGRAPHS. ON MY RETURN TO THE HOSTEL IN THE LATE AFTERNOON, IWAS CONFRONTED BY THE MALE RECEPTIONIST ON DUTY,THAT THE FEMALE RECEPTIONIST DURING MY BOOKING IN PAYMENT HAD GIVEN ME 2 PONDS EXTRA IN THE CHANGE. I PUT THE CHANGE WITHOUT LOOKING INTO MY POCKET AND THOUGHT NOTHING MORE ABOUT IT. THIS MALE RECEPTIONIST DEMANDED THAT I RETURN THIS 2 POUNDS DISCREPANCY IMMEDIATELY,POST HASTE. I BECAME SO DISTRESSED BY THIS DEMAND AND BY HIS CONFRONTATION, THAT I HAD NO ALTERNATIVE BUT TO PAY 2 POUNDS EXTRA. BECAUSE OF THIS CONFRONTATION I IMMEDIATELY INFORMED THIS MALE RECEPTIONIST THAT I COULD NO LONGER STAY IN THIS HOSTEL. I ASKED FOR RECIEPT OF PAYMENT. RECIEPT OF PAYMENT THAT I WAS GIVEN TURNED OUT TO BE A SYHA CANCELLED BOOKING CONFIRMATION DOCUMENT. I IMMEDIATELY LEFT THE HOSTEL AND MADE THE 5 HOUR DRIVE HOME IN HEAVY RAIN.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and organised

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Disliked: The sheets and the douvets were not hygenic. The building is old & it has not been renovated. Too noisy. Very small rooms (dorms for 4 people).

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located at the sea. Free tea and coffee.

Disliked: No lockers in room. Shower doesn't work sometimes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As above.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing especially good, nor bad.

Disliked: Noisy metallic bunk beds.No bedside light.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Provides a very large self catering kitchen and lounge space.The room, toilet, linens and towels were very clean.

Disliked: It will be inconvenient to reach the hostel without a car. Then again, if you were in the Isle of Skye, it would be best to have a vehicle to get around anyways

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location, very good shared facilities - kitchen, dining area and lounge were all excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability