Website feedback

Reviews of Edinburgh Backpackers Edinburgh Hostel

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 87%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

***BUILDING MAINTENANCE from 11/03/19 - One of our building which houses some of our private rooms will be having upgrade/maintenance works in the entry hall from 11/03/19. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.***

*Due to the historic nature of our buildings we do not have any elevators or disabled access.

* We are a fun and energetic hostel aimed at travellers and backpackers.

*Government issued photo ID (passport, national identity card, drivers licence) must be provided at check-in. Fail to do so will result in your booking being cancelled.

*No under 12's in our hostels or under 18's in our dormitories.

*All under 18's must be booked into a private room with an adult.

*Group bookings of more than 8 people must contact us directly to make a booking. Be aware that if you book online for a group, your reservation will be cancelled and you will lose the 12% deposit.

*We cannot guarantee that groups will be roomed together. This depends on availability.

*Check in time is 2pm.
*Check out time is strictly 10am, we do not offer a late check-out service.

*Double rooms have one large bed for 2 persons
*Twin rooms have either 2 single beds or a set of bunk beds
*Triple rooms have 1 double bed and 1 single bed
*Due to the large number of private rooms that we have we cannot guarantee that you will get one of the rooms pictured on this page. If you would like a particular room you have seen, please contact us directly

*We accept all major credit/debit cards excluding American Express. All card transactions incur a minimum charge of £0.50

* No-shows shall be charged the full amount of the reservation.

* There is a 10 GBP refundable key deposit for all guests.

SPECIAL EVENT BOOKINGS

* August / Rugby / Bank Holiday Weekends / Easter /Hogmanay etc.
* The hostel will charge your card the full amount one month before arrival.
* If you will be arriving in less than a month the charge will be made within 24hrs.
* Cancellations - Once you have paid in full, no refunds will be issued.

We accept all major credit/debit cards.
Card Charges for non-European Economic Area residents and Business/Corporate Accounts
Under £25.00 - £0.50
Over £25.00 - 3% of total

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 87%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


17 Apr 2019

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: very clean. warm beds very good bathroom and showers

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Perfect location and good Wifi in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Good location and cheap enough for 6 people per room.

Disliked: 20 bucks gets you a bed, the rest you pay extra

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


17 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Great location and great stuff!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


10 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Great staff, wonderful location - close to train station.

Disliked: Street life was a little noisy, but we were there during Fringe.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Good mattress, cosy pillow, clean bathroom...

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


26 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The bedrooms were clean

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: I really liked the way the management dealed with "problems". Without getting into detail, there was a very unpleasant issue with my room but both the Manager as well as her co workers were very professional in providing a solution. So if you wanna stay somewhere where your are really taken care of when it comes to problems, this is the place.

Disliked: Both the kitchen as well as the bathroom (slept in a private) were not the cleanest places I ve seen in hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


12 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Friendly people

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location perfect

Disliked: luggage storage after check out is 3 pounds per day. In other hostels this service is free of charge

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability