Website feedback

Reviews of Princes Street Backpackers East Edinburgh Hostel

5 West Register Street - top floor, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 65%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 93%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 65%

Showing 71-80 of 91 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday

Liked: Location on princess street , just 2 to 5 minite walking to Waverley and Edinburgh bus station. facilities were good

Disliked: 75 steps to reach reception and another 12 steps for rPom

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, chilled and fun atmosphere. The place had great character, and was brilliant value for money. I didn't feel like I was visiting a budget hostel - it's a one off!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, beds were nice, staff were awesome, Canadian owned, which was a plus for me being from Vancouver. Free wifi and free tea and coffee, all the facilities were nice. A great stay, for sure my next trip to Glasgow will involve the blue sky hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location, friendliness of the staff

Disliked: no wifi access included in the price of the night

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a ton of character. There was paintings all over the walls and the rooms were organized well. The staff was friendly and we could leave our bags there if we were going to be out all day even if we had checked out.

Disliked: It seemed kind of stingy. I only slept there, but I probably wouldn't hang around there too much (besides, there's so much to do around the city!) The bed wasn't made when I got in. So that made me a little wary to sleep in it... But I was so tired by the end of the day, I didn't really care. Still, it would have been nice for the bedding to at least look like it had been washed and cleaned.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: too much noise around in case you have a soft sleep. the stairs are terrible,4th floor which makes exhausting and roonsare quite dark and not too clean.staff is great,nice and helpful.

Disliked: 4th floor , unending stairs.tv room needs to be improved + not too clean in general + rooms far from reception

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The wall decorations gave it charachter.

Disliked: Their directions were poor and they made it seem like they were on St Andrews Square when in fact they are in a small back street up 4 flights of stairs with overly crowded rooms that don't have locks on them and awful cleanliness standards (not to mention my bed that barely had enough room to get in and I could feel every spring). The toilets and showers were atrocious, that is the ones that were still in working order. Not worth 12 pounds.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: The beds are Ok.

Disliked: The Hallway is horrible.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. Dirty bed sheet and pillow. Broken locker. One shower room for too many people, broken door in shower. Horrible graffiti on the wall. Smelly. Will never stay here again. With 11£/night, you can get better dorm room elsewhere.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - the staff is friendly, cool atmosphere, the location excellent-centre. good as an emergency place to sleep over cheap...but not to spend more days.

Disliked: - if you are not a backpacker-don't go! too many stairs to carry the luggage to a top floor- if you are not young and tolerant to the fact that there are too many strangers sharing the same room,followed by inevitable smells, don't go!- if you need emergency place to stay 1 night ,just to slap over,it ok.otherwise, the beds are clean but in a terrible state. mattresses completely roughened. -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability