Website feedback

Reviews of HI Portimão - Pousada de Juventude Portimao Hostel

Lugar do Coca Maravilhas, Portimao, Portugal

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 63%

Safety 83%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portimao?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 80%

Location 63%

Safety 83%

Staff 84%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The worker Helena was very sweet

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was my favourite hostel during our trip to Portugal. Mainly because of the nice pool, the size, that it was filled with people and because it was clean most of the day. I didn't mind the location that much because I like halfhour-walks and the hostel has got a nice view over the mountains and it's close to a shopping center.

Disliked: Our key cards kept malfunctioning everyday which was pretty inconvenient and we often had to try several new cards until it started working. But the staff (except one person) was always very helpful. When we arrived they told us the check-in was at 18.00, even though it says 14 in the description. But they have a pool so I didn't mind.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Quiet. Good for family

Disliked: Its a bit far from beach and city center

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Very clean, with all the facilities you'd expect. Set in nice grounds with decent sized swimming pool. Its a youth hostel, not a private backpackers, so has the usual slightly institutional feel. Very modern building with pleasant terraces on both ground and first floor. Free breakfast is great- fresh rolls with ham and cheese, cereal, yoghurts and drinks. The Aqua shopping centre (h&m, primark, restaurants, etc) is at the bottom of the road to the hostel and has a large supermarket. The selfcatering kitchen in the hostel is well equipped.

Disliked: The location is about 30 mins from the river front which is where the Lisbon/faro bus stops. It isn't a big problem, I walked up to the hostel - it's a pleasant walk through the back streets of town. But I can imagine this would put some people off. The train station is much closer, about ten minutes, and trains run hourly to Lagos (15 mins away). There's timetables on the wall at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: clean, good breakfast, building as such. lot of space.good service from personel

Disliked: can not tell anything bad, except the loction being at least 4 km away from the beaches.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean, price was really good, facilities - wi-fi, computer to use internet, bilard, free breakfast etc.

Disliked: Location - it is far a way from the beach but a bus stop to the beach is about 500 meters from the property so it is not that bad.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, safe, good breakfast and friendly staff

Disliked: Location was out of town, if you want to go to the beach it is a 45 minute walk

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very spacious and clean. The staff iss really nice. Best of all: it has a pool!

Disliked: The hostel is on top (and I mean top)of a hill,ooph. The wifi wasn't working the whole time I was there.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great when arriving by car, free parking, roof terrace, kitchen.

Disliked: Hard to find, there are some signs, but I can imagina that especially with public transport it is unfindable.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff speak English and were helpful with transport instructions

Disliked: Possibly the weirdest place I've stayed in 9 months. The location is awful, literally cannot be any further out of town; the back view is of nothing. Not easy to find because there is no number and it's not on the street that it says, it comes off it. The place is also called 'Pousada de Juventude de Portimão' which I'm sure means the same thing but it's confusing when both names appear on google maps suggesting their different. It's also essentially a resort but in the middle of nowhere; it's creepy though being in a place that huge when I only saw two older people there. The buffet room (which seats 80!) Had no sign of anyone else having been there. The showers work by pressing a button which gets you water for 20 seconds. Very weird place.

Check Availability