Website feedback

El Tuco Hostel Guesthouse

Rampa de la Av. El Ejercito 700, Santiago, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 99%

Staff 97%

Value 98%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 09:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 88%

Location 86%

Safety 99%

Staff 97%

Value 98%

Showing 11-20 of 330 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very secure, reasonably central, not noisy at night, pleasant, clean. More of a guesthouse than a hostel. Helpful manager who provides local knowledge, info on tours etc. The manager was organised, clear and nice. Overall it's a good hostel and I'd stay there again.

Disliked: Could have been closer to the centre; no real common area where travellers hang out so a bit hard to meet people; could be cold at night as no heating (although while I was there it was fine); the manager spoke English well, but the receptionist and tour guide who works with the hostel misunderstood a lot of English! Some rooms in Cusco are oxygen-supplemented I believe, although this was not. You get what you pay for, but if you have bad altitude sickness you might want to stay in an oxygen-supplemented room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The host was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful in orienting us to the city! He talked with us at breakfast each day to help us work through the logistics of what we had planned which was very helpful! The room was very clean and quite large.

Disliked: The location is really safe and secure as the host will unlock the gate for you coming in and out of the establishment each time. We never had to wait long but you do need to be let out by a staff member

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff, you get a great night's sleep. Coco is lovely and even let us lie in a little past our check out time the day after our big trek.

Disliked: it is very quiet, hard to meet new people. Not a real buzz.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff, great sized rooms, one of my best hostel experiences in Peru.

Disliked: A little far from the Plaza de Armas, but not too bad.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Coco is really friendly and gave us good advice. The room with the enclosed bathroom was clean and nice. We really enjoyed our two nights here and are looking forward to coming back.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place is fantastic. Coco and his wife are so welcoming and friendly. They will heap with anything you need. Great base to leave your gear if completing the Inka Trail, very safe. I stayed here before and after my trek. Rooms are very large and clean, the beds are comfortable with lots of warm blankets, bathroom is modern and clean with good hot water. The kitchen has good facilities with heaps of space. Its only a short walk to everything you need and the streets were safe. Its a beautiful place to call home for a few days.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent hostel! Powerful and hour showers, clean rooms, and amazing staff.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Basic, but the room was clean and comfortable, and cleaned each day. Coco/ Jorge, the owner was a really likeable chap, and efficient. Great location near to all major sites. Quiet at night.

Disliked: Breakfast was meagre unless you paid extra for eggs and juice. The kitchen was not kept clean, as Users were asked to wash up themselves. Towels were also extra.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your coment and thanks also for to say something about your breakfast I love with the people looking really cheaper hostels and they wants 5 stars service, I really appreciate your review.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great value for money - the room is large and clean and shower is hot. Coco and his wife are lovely and very helpful and easy going. Very close just across the road from the buses/colectivos for Ollantaytambo and Urubamba.

Disliked: It's a little far from the main square but we knew this when booking. When you get a private room with ensuite at this rate you can walk an extra 10mins

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Hola! Nos quedamos con mi pareja durante 5 noches en EL TUCO hostel en cusco, Perú. No tenemos más que palabras de agradecimiento para con coco que nos abrió la puerta de su casa y nos la hizo sentir propia. Las habitaciones son amplias y cómodas, el agua caliente funcionaba a toda hora y a la perfección, la limpieza impecable, la localización del hostel es a una caminata de 5/10 min hasta la plaza de Armas(6 cuadras aprox), lo cual es muy bueno porque esta lejos del bullicio, en los hosteles del centro por la noche hay muchisimo movimiento hasta las 7 am y es imposible descansar. Nos tuvieron las mochilas durante las 3 noches del camino inca, y sin ningun problema ni costo adicional. La verdad todo muy bien, super recomendable!!

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability