Website feedback

Reviews of Bothy Hostel Arequipa Hostel

Puente Grau 306, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bothy hostel is in a bad condition. A Sruffy dark and unclean place. NEEDS RENOVATIONS.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very cute design, secuer and in a easy walking distance to plasa de armas. Uncomplicated staff, cool roofterrace with breakfast and a nice view over arequipa

Disliked: Small windows, difficult to get fresh air in the room and wet floors in bathrooms all the time. But not very dirty, so its okay.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view at the roof. Close to inner city attractions

Disliked: Dirty, loud and no kitchen during the day. Rooms unsafe with no locks. Other reviews seem fake. Promotional video does not represent reality of this hostel. Avoid at all costs. Does not deserve current reviews. Right on main road smells and sounds like a dirty bus exhaust pipe.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no kitchen no hot water at all

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great Location and comfortable room

Disliked: nope

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great roof top bar and free breakfast of bread and jam and coffee. Other hostels do better free breakfasts though, like friendly APQ, who do amazing pancakes or scrambled eggs!They have a bar, very funky with reasonably ish priced drinks. Pool table is terrible though, not enough balls, tiny pockets and big slopes on the table.When the showers were hot, they were great. But they were not always hot.WiFi was great!

Disliked: This place has the potential to be great but just doesn't make it. For us, the issues were1. Cleaners left our dorm bed room wide open all day so all our stuff was on display for people to take. We had the valuable stuff in lockers, but anything else could have been taken by anyone walking in and walking out again. We were not given a lock to the 4 bed dorm, which is not unusual. Except when our two flatmates were, who then locked us out. See below.2. The room is right beneath the metal stairs leading to the rooftop and from.around 6am when the cleaners started moving around all we could hear was thump thump thump up and down the stairs any time.anyone went up.3. The bar, quiet funky, with a terrible pool table, was open until well after 1, playing loud music and keeping the whole hostel awake.4. Following on from 1. Above, as our flatmates were given a key and we were not, we got locked out our room for.over two hours on a night when we had intended to retire around 8am for an early start. Instead we found ourselves locked out , until just before 10pm as, the hostel did not apparently have a working spare key so we found ourselves Sat outside reception, freezing cold waiting! The receptionist was very apologetic and was trying to get us in, but not having a key to get into their own rooms was a bit ridiculous. After specifically making a bit of a fuss, as we were more than frustrated by then, they gave us half a nights accommodation as a refund, we just took it as we had to grab the precious 4 hours sleep before we had to get up!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice clean hostel, has a bar but unfortunately wasnt very busy when i was here so didn't spend time there! Staff were lovely, and good hostel overall :)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere was great for travelers with the pub down stairs, hammocks on the roof, movie room, and incredibly friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staff and nice clean place. we had some complains about a guest in our room and therefore wanted to change room.. this was totally fine with the staff..

Disliked: no kitchen or restaurant for food.. tours and bus tickets offered by the hostel are pretty expensive compered to other agencies.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability